We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”
Review of Round Pond Estate

Round Pond Estate
Ranked #8 of 26 things to do in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Growing Tradition: For nearly a quarter century, our family has been growing some of the finest winegrapes in the heart of the Napa Valley's acclaimed Rutherford region. Home to some of the most famous American vineyards, and some of the most coveted Cabernet Sauvignon fruit, Rutherford is widely recognized as one of the great viticultural regions of the world. Over the years, we have cultivated a nurturing and sustainable relationship with our estate vineyard, which has made our Cabernet Sauvignon prized by numerous esteemed wineries. To make our own highly-rated, handcrafted wines, we have combined two generations of winegrowing experience with the same artisan attention to detail we have learned are essential parts of crafting world-class olive oils and red wine vinegars. Our goal is simple - by remaining true to time-honored traditions we strive to bring you the best the Napa Valley has to offer. We invite you to explore and savor these exceptional, limited-production wines.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We chose an estate tasting followed by a tour & tasting across the street (Round Pond also produces olive oils and vinegars). The wine tasting was on the outdoor patio upstairs- which was a delightful setting for the next hour and a half. While this was wonderful, our favorite was the olive oil tour. It was a total surprise how in depth it was- and how much fun! The tour ended with a tasting- breads, fruits, cheeses, veggies, you name it. The guide offered suggestions of what to dip, pour, or mix (with those foods) and then our little group went to town. By the end, we were all ordering cases of oil, vinegars, and syrup shipped home. Bravo, Round Pond! These outings combined make for an exceptional afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LATDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    58
    20
    6
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place is a little off the beaten path, but was by far our favorite Winery/vineyard in the Napa Area. Has some of the most scenic views I have ever seen. If you do go, ask for Dave he was kind, informative and a true gentleman.
We made the mistake of eating lunch before we went, had we not we would have opted for the wine and food option. The menu looked amazing! Plus you get ultimate VIP treatment and get a table/couch outside. We will we back.
Thanks again Dave
-The teachers from NY

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Estate tasting at Round Pond was outstanding. View from the patio was gorgeous. The fair pairing was a lot of funny.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Advourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The jewel in the valley”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I choose to visit this place because I wanted a different experience from the bigger more commercial wineries (Domaine Chandon...Mumm). This was truly one of the best tasting experiences I had during my visit to Napa. The entrance to the winery is lined w palm trees making you feel that you have been transported to a whole new world. Once inside the decor was very relaxing and intimate. Our expert was Dave and he was not only very personable, but he was born and raised in Napa. For some reason Dave being a native made the experience feel more authentic. We did the estate tasting which consisted of 3 wines paired w 3 bites. Many reviews claim this tasting could serve as lunch, I beg to differ. The pairings were filling but more of a snack to hold you over than a true lunch. The location of the tasting, on the outdoor rooftop, added to the experience. We had beautiful weather and sitting on the rooftop overlooking the vineyard was extremely relaxing. I encourage you to check this place out. It's awesome.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WillBernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So pretty and calm”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have done the tour(that includes tastings). We literally had a private tour, half an hour or so (nothing I haven't seen or done before) but it's nice to see their organic garden and facilities. The wine and the porch are so much fun and the grounds are beautiful.
I'm sure the food is great here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RonP1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Round Pond Estate also viewed

 
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Round Pond Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing