We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best French Dip Sandwich ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rutherford Grill

Rutherford Grill
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
311 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“The Best French Dip Sandwich ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Over and over and over again, ALWAYS tastes great! Everything! Service is good, but it can get noisy inside. If the weather permits sit outside. It is a delightful and you can bring your dog too!
They have a nice bar out there too. The surprise part is the prices are reasonable too. Not cheap, but not to cause a gasp when you open the menu either. Go, you will enjoy it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheMaven2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    913
    373
    84
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Friendly, helpful staff.
Great food. Great wine list too.

Ate here 3 times in 3 days whilst I was staying in Rutherford.

Always busy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank js0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
285 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Consistently Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

The restaurant is owned by Hillstone Group (Houstons, Bandera, etc) and has a very broad menu for its size. The place is often packed with tourists, so its best to go during the slower mid afternoon or show up early for dinner. There is never corkage so you can bring your own wine (which in wine country is not hard to come by). The wine prices on the menu are reasonable and well below the standard restaurant 3x markup. The food is well prepared. The deviled eggs are amazing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jgregb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Place to stop in the valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I have been going to the grill for the last 25 years and we have seen very little change over the years.Of course chefs and waiters have changed and have tried their best to keep the same quality dishes . We had smoke salmon and house salad and both were very tasty. The service is fast and efficient.
The best time for lunch is 11:30 am to have a seat otherwise if you arrived around noon you may have to wait. Outside seating is very with a bar for a faster service.
Now have a new location in Yountville at the place of the California Cafe

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Grill going downhill!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have been going to the RG for 20 years. They have changed owners and managers more than a few times but the food remained untouched. We went up Saturday for a late lunch ordered our usual Chicago artichoke dip and cheeseburger for me and vegi burger for her. The dip never came and my burgers meat was lower quality and that tasty sauce was missing. My wife's vegiburger was totally different and bland. BTW our meals were cold.

Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rutherford Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rutherford Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing