We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Clam Chowder”
Review of Rutherford Grill

Rutherford Grill
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
East Bay California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chowder”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Had lunch at Rutherford Grill 12/30/11. We've been there several times and it has been excellent each time. Three consistent stand-outs: 1. CLAM CHOWDER, 2. GRILLED ARTICHOKES, and 3. RIBS. We also tried the portobello mushroom burger which was delicious and the tuna burger which was not (too spicy, not enough tuna flavor, dry consistency). Plus the service is excellent. The waitress stopped by just enough to be helpful, but not too much to be annoying. She brought us perfectly timed drink refills. Disadvantages: no reservations. Arrive before 12 to avoid a 20-30 minute wait for lunch. There is a really nice outdoor eating area and bar (the outdoor bar was open even though we had some chilly, wet weather). I believe your dog can join you outside too.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtmom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    961
    390
    87
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant hands down!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Just went here for our Anniversary last wek...the best of everything!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank MOMBO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Rutherford Grill has an air of activity. It was packed during the time we were there and the flow of the waiters delivering mouth-watering food and the hum of many surrounding conversations made us eagerly await the delivery of our order. All I can say is that they met our high expectations. The food was plentiful, cooked perfectly and delicious. We will go back on our next Napa trip.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank BobNaperville_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“My Favorite go to in Napa”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Love the place! Great martinis, and NO corkage fees. Their bleu cheese potato chips appetizer will make you swoon! Also their grilled artichokes are yummy! Always a great place. They don't take reservations, so bring some wine and sit outside and watch the Wine Train go by while you wait for your table. It usually isn't too long and it is worth the wait!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best grill out there!”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We ate twice here in 3 days that's how good it was. The ribs are the best I have ever tasted and the root beer was better than all the big brands you normally get wished I could get Henry Weinhard's back home in UK. Staff very informative and gave daily specials. It is a very popular restaurant so be prepared to wait a little for a table. You cannot afford to miss an opportunity to eat in this restaurant well done to the chefs and staff.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Canary2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rutherford Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rutherford Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing