We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Annual "Best Bet"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alex Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

Alex Italian Restaurant
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Highway 29
Description: The food is delicious but no matter what we say your opinion is the most important Come Soon!
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Annual "Best Bet"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We dined at Alex last year and were pleasantly surprised. So, we elected to see if the excellence would be maintained this year. Tonight's experience was very, very good! The four of us decided to eat light, enjoying soups, salads and the BEST Wild Mushroom pasta that i had ever enjoyed. The table service was really World Class and the wine list was carefully selected. Alex and his charming wife came by to say "Welcome Back", a classy touch.

Whenever your palate calls for True Italian, choose Alex. It will become your "Best Bet", just as it has become ours!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesLara7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    22
    10
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unknown Gem in the middle of the Napa Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

An elegant, intimate dining experience awaits those willing to venture a block off the beaten trail. What a find one block off Rte 29 in Rutherford! A small intimate dining room with stately fireplace, comfortable elegant table seating; just right for a dinner with that someone special, an important customer, your boss or anyone else that enjoys fine dining. Not really a place for families with small children. Food is top notch Italian fine dining, pasta course is just that (a second app) and priced accordingly. Do have three courses as intended plus dessert and you will have a great, fulfilling meal. A bit pricey, but well below peer elegant dining. Service is impeccable. Corkage is a mere $20 that is waived with the purchase of a bottle. Wine list is impressive. Only drawback, no spirits (wine and beer only). But a great selection of dessert wines and ports. Do yourself and your loved one a favor, give this one a try. We are locals and will be back for that special meal when we don't want to spend a mint!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“The Service Sets The Tone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We'd dined at Alex previously, and expected a great experience on this visit. I can sum this visit up thusly: the food was great, desserts fine but not great, but the service was disappointing. We brought several wines, which really seemed to frenzy our server. She had problems opening the wines, presenting a wine for an initial evaluation, and providing adequate stemware. The evening became one of anticipating the next wine service blunder. But, yes, the food was very good, so if you get better service, Alex will earn the four stars that I gave it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JDinNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Had a wonderful dinner at this very nice restaurant. The staff was extremely friendly and very attentive. Food was very good and served in a timely manner. The restaurant is set up nicely so that you do not feel crowded. It was my wife and myself and we had good seating and we were not crowded into tiny tables close together like many restaurants do with tables for two. The host Alex was very friendly and sincerely happy to share his restaurant with us. I would recommend this restaurant highly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cttravelrgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere; small portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed dinner at Alex and the service was great; but the portions were small and uninspiring. Good location.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alex Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing