We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of HALL Rutherford

HALL Rutherford
Ranked #12 of 26 things to do in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: HALL Rutherford offers guests a truly world-class winery experience to include a tasting of HALL’s most regaled wines along with an intimate tour through the property and caves. The winery’s 14,000 square feet of caves were designed and built by hand by Friedrich Gruber of Gutenstein Austria. The caves are finished with handmade Austrian brick recovered from sites in and around Vienna and showcases select works from the Halls’ art collection. Deep inside the caves resides a dazzling reception area for private tastings and entertaining. The room’s spectacular chandelier, designed by Donald Lipski and Jonquil LeMaster, is dressed in hundreds of Swarovski crystals.
Calgary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Hall make seriously great wines. Greg did a wonderful job touring us around the winery and hosting our tasting. Joined the wine club and bought extra wines to boot!

We don't drink a lot of new world wines, but Hall seriously impresses. If you only have the opportunity to visit one or two wineries in Napa, don't miss Hall!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank RoamingTexan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    14
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
2 reviews
“Favorite stop on our Napa vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

The Hall winery in Rutherford was the favorite stop on out tour. In a town that proclaims that "Cab is King", this is where the crown resides in our opinion. Every part of the tour, from the amazing view in the visitor's center, to the fantastic works of art all the way down to and in the tasting room, and of course, the wines - were tops. We had zero interest in joining a "wine club" that just about everyone offers - but this wine changed our minds. After enjoying it, we decided we must have this wine in our arsenal at all times! Thank you Hall!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank DanJenMahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
600 reviews
326 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Crazy great views and cabernets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We are Hall Wine Club members but we had never visited the Hall Rutherford Winery. We made reservations. The wine tasting was free for Hall Wine Club members. The winery is up a private narrow winding road off the road to the Auberge du Soleil. The views from the winery are stunning. The winery is small. The highlight is the cave with art leading to the tasting room with the most incredible chandelier. The wines were excellent.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank charles6346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Amazing view, delicious wine, and the art...!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We enjoyed a tour and tasting at the Rutherford location this week. The wines were fabulous, the views were heavenly (get there a few minutes early, and enjoy the Sauvignon Blanc on the patio looking out into the valley) our tour guide, who was also a chef, was very informative and clearly had a tremendous amount of love and respect for the Halls - something that made the wine taste even better. Our tour guide had a wonderful dry sense of humor, and did his best to deal with late comers without inconveniencing the rest of us. It's hard to deal with a tour group when several participants are quite late, maybe a little feisty from a previous tasting appointment, and argumentative - varying on a scale from playful to bordering on antagonistic. So, kudos to Gregg for dealing with all personality types - we definitely had a mix! But in the end, everybody enjoyed themselves immensely. The tasting room is spectacular, and I'm sure I'm not the first person to obsessively admire the one of a kind commissioned chandelier. Works and photos can't appropriately describe the beauty of this piece. It was worth the winding road up the hill just to see this. More than anything, the bit of advice to give anybody heading to Hall in Rutherford - print out and follow there directions. There is a reason why they send it to you... this way, you won't get lost, you won't be late.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CourtneySC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic wine/grounds but pretentious tour guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

My wife and I had a 10:00 am booking for a tour and tasting on Aug 1, 2011. Of all the tours/tasting we had booked on this trip, I was really looking forward to Hall as it had been recommended to me by several friends.

The drive up to Hall is a great drive, up the mountain on the windy Rutherford Hill Rd. Bring your camera! We gave ourselves enough time to ensure we were not late for the booking and arrived at the gate at 9:30am. Once at the gate we called up on the intercom and the gentleman that answered literally laughed at me and said we were really early (ya, no kidding), then the gate opened. We drove up to the building and were welcomed with a glass Sauvignon Blanc.

The building is absolutely stunning. While waiting for the tour we enjoyed our wine and the view of the valley.

The tour began with a brief history of the Hall's life and how they ended up in the Napa valley. A very interesting story to say the least. From the main building we walked outside by the vineyards and around to the back of the building to the entrance to the cave. The cave is what you would expect (if you have seen a cave at other wineries), with the exception of the art that can be found throughout. While walking through the cave I asked our guide if they offer barrel tastings. His reply was "why would anyone want to offer that?" in a very condescending tone. He went on to say that the wine isn't ready when it's in the barrel so why would you want to try it? In other words, he was knocking all the wineries that offer the barrel tasting as a "learning experience". By this time I was getting very annoyed with our guide and his "blank" doesn't stink attitude.

Moving along with the tour, we walked to the end of the cave where you will find the tasting room. I have one world to describe this room. Wow! You can see pictures from previous reviews or on their website but pictures do not do this room justice. It was here that we all sat and sampled the wine. We had three samplings on this day. The 2008 Hall Cabernet, the 2007 Bergfeld Cabernet and the 2007 Kathryn Hall Cabernet. All were very good, especially the Bergfeld.

While sampling the wines the guide talked about each and the history of the wines. At one point I asked a question that unknown to me had been discussed already. Well, let me tell you, our guide made it clear that I was wasting his time. His reply was, "well I'm not going to tell you if you weren't paying attention". Really? Wow.

Once the tasting was complete we had the opportunity to purchase some wine. We had decided on a bottle of the Bergfeld at $100.00 per. The guide was in such a rush to kick us out the door that he didn't even give us a receipt for the wine. It felt like our purchase of one bottle insulted him and at that point he just wanted us to leave.

Overall, I would recommend Hall despite the crappy attitude that our guide had displayed. It was obvious he was having a bad day. The wines are fantastic and the grounds are stunning.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HALL Rutherford also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to HALL Rutherford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing