We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Welcoming or Friendly”

Rutherford Hill Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Country Semi-Custom Limousine Tour
More Info
$650.00*
and up
Private Napa Valley Wineries Day Trip
Ranked #12 of 26 things to do in Rutherford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These caves are some of the largest in the valley, and have an underground dining room. Cave Tours, Wine Tasting, Picnic Grounds, Special Event
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not Welcoming or Friendly”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I contacted Rutherford Hills saying we had a group of 14 interested in coming to the winery to picnic. Cindy was prompt and gave us the option of the $100 or $150 for a table and said "let me know when you have a final headcount". A day later, I sent her a note saying we would be 15 people to which she responded "You need to contact Events as they handle groups of 15 or more. The event coordinator is Maria". I contacted Maria and she said because you have 15 people we require you to purchase food. It's $80 per person but we have no availability on the requested date.

I replied we had only one more person and since they didn't have ability to serve us the luncheon on the requested date, could we just have one more person at the table. To which she said "Unfortunately we do have to stick strong to our rules for the picnic areas, we also do not have accurate seating for 15 people in our public picnic area." Direct quote.

So bottom line. We were honest and said one more person was coming. They said they can't make the $80 per person on the lunch, and are willing to forgo $100 to $150 for the table. It just doesn't make sense.

Not welcoming or friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank timothy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    50
    26
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good wines, great value, Excellent setting with picnic options”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

One of the coolest settings in the valley simply because it's nicely elevated above the valley floor. Wines are good, and there's a great variety of red and white. Looking for a place to eat your lunch? Bring some $ and they'll let you use there nice picnic area... BETTER YET, join the wine club and use the area for free. They'll even let you hand pick the wines for your first shipment so you can't go wrong.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank richt727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not welcoming”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

"Is there something I can help you with!!" Is the way we were greeted by a senior staff member at Rutherford Hill. It was clear that we were not welcomed and discouraged from participating in their wine tasting. My party of three were all fashionably and appropriately dressed for Napa wine tasting Perhaps this establishment discriminates against professional Latina women? I've travelled the world, tasting wine and have never been treated with such arrogance. This place treats dogs better than actual paying customers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank soyleti15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing wine, amazing views”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Was very quiet, so service excellent. Really remarkable wines and a great port. Very beautiful location and views.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GSUKKENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Greatest Picnic Spot in the Napa Valley”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Contrary to popular belief, good picnic spots are hard to find in the Napa Valley. Like most wineries, Rutherford Hill does require reservations and yes it does charge a $100 worth of wine to
picnic on their tables but you won't find a better view ! Their tables are decorated with
Flowers and umbrellas, super clean and well organized . Rutherford Hill wines are just fine and their caves are awesome. I found their staff very professional and polite ,
The best Fathers Day picnic ever and nobody was stressed about where we were going!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rutherford Hill Winery also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Rutherford Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing