We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous wines and picnic area”

Rutherford Hill Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Country Semi-Custom Limousine Tour
Ranked #11 of 26 things to do in Rutherford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These caves are some of the largest in the valley, and have an underground dining room. Cave Tours, Wine Tasting, Picnic Grounds, Special Event
Swanton, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous wines and picnic area”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Must do the cave tour and tasting. Wonderful experience. Stop by Dean and Deluca to pick up some food prior to the tasting to enjoy overlooking the best view in Napa. If you can't get there, purchase some of the fabulous port and have it with the chocolate covered blueberries. AMAZING!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    49
    26
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Wine”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Like the 2002 Red wine but now it is discontinued. We still enjoy the 2003 Red wine from them. They also have a red wine called Angel and the other one called Devil which are also very good. I am their club member too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbles_0224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great picnicking!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stopped into Rutherford Hill for a Saturday afternoon picnic. For $35.00 we were reserved a picnic table with a linen table cloth and plastic wine glasses. This fee also included a $20 credit to be used toward a bottle of wine. Awesome location for a picnic! Bring your own food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadatravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun Tasting Room”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Off the beaten Silverado trail and up the hill, yet worth the drive. I enjoyed the wine at Rutherford Hill; however, for me the real highlights were the other amenities (e.g. helpful staff, exciting tasting room, wine caves, and scenic view). If you are looking for a fun vineyard to taste and explore, this one should definitely make the list for your upcoming tour! Enjoy!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DruBones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Had to pay THEM to have a picnic.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Ok. My husband and I were taking our own wine tour of Napa Valley. We got tired of going from winery to winery who had 4 tastings for $20.00. We are not use to having to pay for tastes - do not have to do this in the Texas Hill Country. Because we were ready for our picnic lunch and we loved the view, we asked about their nice picnic area. The charge of $15.00 was a shock, but if you bought a bottle of their wine, the charge would be applied to the purchase price. We were hungry so we paid. There was a nice employee who gave us several tastes until we found one that both of us liked. I have never paid $15.00 to have a picnic at any Texas winery and will never pay that again at any Napa winery. By the way, the wine was good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarieH774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rutherford Hill Winery also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
Rutherford, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Rutherford Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing