We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely wine tour”

Rutherford Hill Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Country Semi-Custom Limousine Tour
Ranked #11 of 26 things to do in Rutherford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These caves are some of the largest in the valley, and have an underground dining room. Cave Tours, Wine Tasting, Picnic Grounds, Special Event
biddeford, maine/gulf stream, fl
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lovely wine tour”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Wine tasting was very informative and interesting as we took the tour and tasted along the way! Jimmie, our guide, was extremely well informed and gave us quite an education. His information is vast on many areas, and it was a pleasure to be with him and learn so much!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 416sheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    50
    26
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good wines, but not great”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We decided to take the cave tour here because we wanted to do 1 tour on this day of tastings. I would not recommend this tour. It is very informative about how they make their wine, but it is not the best setting to be learning about wine. I felt like I wanted to leave the whole time. There are better cave tours and learning tours out there. Not worth the $25.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAELOVES_TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houst
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not too friendly”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

we visited as part of our bike tour-of all the wineries over 3+ days, they seem to be the least interested in our visit

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank texowl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite Winery of the Trip”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I loved this visit! We had Hillery as our pourer, and she was fantastic! She gave me more tastes than what was on the menu, and she was a lot of fun to talk to. The chocolate covered blueberries are a MUST! I would absolutely go back again and recommend this to friends. There is also an outdoor picnic area, which is rare for wineries in this area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank teabears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
“Guess we didn't look rich enough”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were hoping to try some of Rutherford Hill's port wines, because my wife loves dessert wines. However, after a getting stuck in traffic driving up from the Bay Area and then accidentally stopping at Rutherford *Ranch* next door, we managed to get to the tasting room exactly one minute after 5pm. To our astonishment they refused us a tasting, even though they still had about a dozen people at the bar. Yes, we did manage to miss their closing time by a hair, but I'm sure they wouldn't have batted an eye at that if we were wearing designer clothing and jewelry like most of the other patrons in the room.

Guess we didn't look rich enough to even be worth an apology. Sorry Rutherford, but dessert wines are *not* supposed to leave a sour taste in your mouth!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatrikDh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rutherford Hill Winery also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
Rutherford, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Rutherford Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing