We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starry, starry night ...”

Grgich Hills Estate
Ranked #5 of 27 things to do in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Grgich Hills Estate is an iconic Napa Valley winery, consistently producing world-class wines. Vintner Hall of Fame inductee Miljenko "Mike" Grgich first earned world-wide recognition when the Chardonnay he crafted won the 1976 Paris Tasting, beating the best of France. Mike then partnered with Austin Hills to open their family-owned-and-operated winery in 1977. Committed to natural winegrowing and sustainability, we farm our five estate vineyards without artificial fertilizers, pesticides or herbicides, rely on wild yeast fermentation and use our passion and art to handcraft food-friendly, balanced and elegant wines.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a lovely evening interlude at this vineyard. It was an intimate gathering of our wine train group, our guide, and for most of the visit one very lovely member of staff.
We were then joined by a couple of extra staff members as we concluded our tour, they were also very knowledgable and fun - this was appreciated especially considering the "after hours" nature of our tour, so the end of a long day for them!

It was a particularly pretty evening in the Vineyard ... only enhanced by walking out to see the Wine Train waiting for us just outside the property. Reminded me of a scene Van Gogh would have done perfect justice to!

1  Thank lowquayloafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thanks for the visit and we agree, the Wine Train visit in the evening is a great way to enjoy the valley. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"grape stomping"
in 25 reviews
"fume blanc"
in 11 reviews
"tasting room"
in 42 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 44 reviews
"unforgettable tour"
in 5 reviews
"california wines"
in 6 reviews
"chateau montelena"
in 6 reviews
"cheese pairing"
in 7 reviews
"great wine"
in 23 reviews
"great history"
in 9 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 7 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 15 reviews
"private tour"
in 7 reviews
"visit napa"
in 5 reviews
"take home"
in 7 reviews
"wine club members"
in 6 reviews
"different wines"
in 9 reviews
Filter

320 - 324 of 432 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Grgich was a good stop on our wine tasting itinerary. The place isn't maybe as pretty as others. It is pretty dark in the tasting room. The staff made up for it by being very friendly and accommodating. The wine was really good.

1  Thank SeattleTraveler1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for your visit and we're glad you enjoyed the wine and our great team in the tasting room. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We made an unscheduled stop here when we found ourselves with some extra time because the guy at our rental car agency gave us a pass for a tasting here (he had some really nasty clients prior to us that took forever to get situated and this was a nice gesture to reward our patience - thanks, Thrifty!). We enjoyed learning about this winery and Mr. Grgich's role in the Paris tasting. Not surprisingly the whites are excellent but we also really enjoyed the reds and bought a few that we paired with chocolate for dessert later that evening. It's unpretentious and we were glad to "discover" it.

1  Thank smotley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We traveled to Grgich Hills Estate via the Napa Valley Wine Train, and were treated to an educational tour of how the wines were made, and a delightful tasting of their five lovely wines hosted by their guide, Mike. He made the afternoon fly by with his witty repartee and sharing his knowledge of the wine industry. We were so impressed with the story of how Mr. Grgich brought the attention of the French and the world to California wines with his award winning chardonnay! Did I mention that we actually got to meet Mr. Grgich, who is 90 years old and an absolute delight to talk with! The grounds are so beautiful and lend themselves to so many beautiful pictures. Be sure to bring your camera! Oh, and bring your credit card, because after tasting these lovely wines, you won't be leaving without them! Hope you have as much fun there as we did!

1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thanks for your visit and we're glad you enjoyed the wines and got to meet Mike Grgich. He loves to meet guests and talk with them. Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Toni was our guide and she was great. The tour was very thorough regarding the wine making process. The tasting with cheese pairing was fantastic. Toni provided subtle context and commentary during the tasting and was very helpful in answering a variety of questions. The history of the facility and the winemaker make the tasting and tour a unique experience.

1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thanks for your visit and we're glad you enjoyed your tour and tasting with Toni. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grgich Hills Estate also viewed

Rutherford, Napa Valley
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Grgich Hills Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing