We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Break from the Ordinary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grgich Hills Estate

Grgich Hills Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
$206.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Train with Gourmet Lunch, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Tours
Ranked #5 of 26 things to do in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Grgich Hills Estate is an iconic Napa Valley winery, consistently producing world-class wines. Vintner Hall of Fame inductee Miljenko "Mike" Grgich first earned world-wide recognition when the Chardonnay he crafted won the 1976 Paris Tasting, beating the best of France. Mike then partnered with Austin Hills to open their family-owned-and-operated winery in 1977. Committed to natural winegrowing and sustainability, we farm our five estate vineyards without artificial fertilizers, pesticides or herbicides, rely on wild yeast fermentation and use our passion and art to handcraft food-friendly, balanced and elegant wines.
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Break from the Ordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Recommended by a friend- we stopped here one day as our first winery of the day. We had our first tasting of the day and enjoyed the outdoors before we went inside. Our guide was very kind and helpful. Loved learning about the history of the current winemaker and the connection the the valley. The rest of the tastings were inside the winery standing right next to aging barrels. Big plus as well that there were crackers between tastings- not too many of the wineries have this. Bought a bottle here .... and we were encouraged to go to the Chardonnay vines and pick a grape to taste- we did and it was good fun!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DebMRoswell_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thanks for taking a break from the ordinary with us. We apprecate your visit and review. Hope to see you back soon!

Ken Morris
Grgich Hills Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    67
    37
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toluca Lake, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good stop, not as personal as some”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

During a recent trip to wine country, I had a very short list of wineries I was looking to visit. I wasn't out to get drunk and go crazy while wine tasting, I only went to the wineries I already liked and enjoyed and was looking forward to Grgich.

We arrived and were greeted in the courtyard and signed up for the progressive tasting since it also included a "tour." Our group steadily grew to about 15 people, and off we went. A few points that I found a little disappointing...

The tour was being led by someone who seemed to be sticking to a script, and didn't seem to have a great love for or interest in the wine. I do believe that the Grgich employee may have been playing to the audience since as many as 10 of the 15 people on the tour were clearly just there to get drunk. Those people clearly had no interest in the information provided or in Grgich.

Another strike against the tour is that while it takes you into the wine making facility, you make 4 "stops" along the way which are all condensed into a single room (with the first tasting happening outside near where you check in). You don't end up leaving with much insight into the unique techniques that make Grgich unique.

Lastly, the final stop is the actual retail counter, where space is tight, the cash registers were loud, and the tour guide has to raise their voice to speak over other tours as they pass by.

Overall, we had a good time, but I would definitely consider doing an estate tasting or one of the more personal tastings where you really get to spend more one on one time with a wine expert. I think that would allow you to really enjoy the great product Grgich puts out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank UCSB_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to let us know about some problems you experienced on your tour. We're always looking to improve and we will certain work on the problems you pointed out. We apprecate you letting us know and hope you'll return and give us another try.

Ken Morris
Grgich Hills Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Grgich rediscovered--and glad we did!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

In the late 70's, before having kids, we used to stop at Grgich Hills for tasting. Even though it was relatively new back then, it already had developed a reputation for quality wines. After kids, we stopped going wine tasting except for special events. Now that our kids are of drinking age (and appreciate wine themselves), we have started to explore Napa Valley again, going eleven times in the past twelve months. We finally tried Grgich Hills over Labor Day weekend because my wife wanted to partake of their special grape stomping activity. We're glad we did.

We had forgotten how good Grgich Hills wines are. We did their Progressive Tasting which includes tasting as you walk through the winery with a guide. It started with their signature Chardonnay (while waiting for the every 15 minute tour to start), then a Fume Blanc, a Zinfandel and a Cabernet. All were excellent, though I especially liked the Chardonnay and Cab. What was nice is that the tour isn't overly long though they give you good background on how and when the winery started, what awards they've won over the years, etc. Our guide wasn't as knowledgeable as many of the staff we've gotten to know at other wineries and we got the sense that she was relatively new there. The tasting fee is waived if you buy a bottle, or if you join their club. We liked their wines so much that we decided to join the club, especially after getting a tour of their special members area (non-members can only taste while touring, no sit-down tasting as for members). This included a "Library Room" that can be reserved along with cheese and chocolate pairings.

The grape stomp is something they offer from Labor Day through Halloween (basically harvest season). They have some half wine barrels with cabernet sauvignon grapes in them. You step in and stomp around, getting your feet wet with purple juice. When you step out, you step onto a souvenir T-shirt, leaving your permanent footprints. Cost is $30, including tasting. My wife enjoyed it, and we enjoyed watching her.

While not a huge winery, there were certainly a lot of people tasting (especially since it was Labor Day weekend) so the staff was pretty busy even as we tried to purchase wine and enroll in their club. Don't expect the leisurely conversation and attentive service you might get at one of the smaller wineries (at least not in the non-member area--the member area looked quite different). But expect really good wines.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank castriker888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fun place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nothing stuck up or pretentious about this place. We participated in the grape stomping and have the t shirt to prove it. All of the employees were happy, cheerful and really were about making a great experience for the customer! We would definately come back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bsquared1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
640 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Lots to love about Grgich!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This winery is a must stop while in the Napa region. It is a lovely property, and the tasting room is very attractive. Grgich wines are all fantastic...their Chardonnay, Cab Sauv and late harvest Violetta....heck, ALL the wine is fantastic. The tasting room is friendly, staff is very knowledgeable. Lots of interesting history too. Read up before heading in and it will mean more. They also give you the wine glass that you take your tasting in as part of the tasting fee. The glass is etched with the Grgich name and logo. The fee ($15) also comes off if you buy a bottle. Which you will want to do. On a recent stop in we picked up a fantastic wine suitcase which is airport approved and holds 12 bottles of wine. It was an unbeatable price of $49 and has a reuseable liner inside. All our bottles made it safe and sound across the country. We have seen this same carrier in other places as much as $100 higher in price. Thanks, Grgich for making it so affordable to get your wine home!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mcdedrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your visit and we're very happy to make it so affordable to get your wine home.

Cheers,
Ken Morris
Grgich Hills Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grgich Hills Estate also viewed

Rutherford, Napa Valley
 
Rutherford, Napa Valley
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Grgich Hills Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing