We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fun time”

Grgich Hills Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
$206.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Train with Gourmet Lunch, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Tours
More Info
$266.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Train from San Francisco: Gourmet Lunch, Wine Tasting and...
Ranked #5 of 26 things to do in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Grgich Hills Estate is an iconic Napa Valley winery, consistently producing world-class wines. Vintner Hall of Fame inductee Miljenko "Mike" Grgich first earned world-wide recognition when the Chardonnay he crafted won the 1976 Paris Tasting, beating the best of France. Mike then partnered with Austin Hills to open their family-owned-and-operated winery in 1977. Committed to natural winegrowing and sustainability, we farm our five estate vineyards without artificial fertilizers, pesticides or herbicides, rely on wild yeast fermentation and use our passion and art to handcraft food-friendly, balanced and elegant wines.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The wine here is quite good but most of all I liked our host who gave us our tasting tour. He was very enthusiastic and his passion for wine-drinking will rub off on you. You can take home your wine glass for free, but I suggest you take some bottles home with you as well.

Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

We're glad you had a fun time: that's what tasting wine is all about! Thanks for your visit and your post and we hope to see you back at Grgich Hills soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Grgich Hills Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 363 of 407 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

We visited this winery while on the "Wine Train" and it was a great selection. While I could have dawdled more along the way, it was an informative tour the handling a a fairly large tour was done without losing a personal touch. The tasting was well done - no pushy sales and far more informative thatn the others we did on this trip. Relaxed and the wine is great. A great story about the founder of the winery and the science behind what they do.
Highly recommended

Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Thanks for your visit and taking the time to write a review.

We appreciate your visit!

Ken Morris
Grgich Hills Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

John was a wonderful host and he fully explained the importance of this historically significant winery. A lovely Zinfandel and Merlot. Do not miss the Cab!

Thank Mark5136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Reading the other glowing reviews of Grgich I feel like we missed something when we visited last Sunday. We stopped by for a 2 for 1 tasting (normally $15 each) and had no trouble getting a spot at the bar. We did not take a tour. Dominic was out server and was only marginally interested in helping us. The couple next to us had purchased a more expensive tasting and received much more attention. Overall the wines did not impress us, but palates are very personal. There are so many great wineries in the valley, I don't think we will return to this one.

1  Thank LovetoScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Thank you for your visit. We’re very sorry to hear you did not have great experience. We work very hard to care for our guests but obviously we let you down on your visit and we’ll use your comments to improve.

We hope you’ll visit again.

Ken Morris
Grgich Hills Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Everyone is raving about Linda. While I am sure she is great, Melissa was my personal guide. She was great!

I have been to many wineries in Napa and Sonoma, but Grgich is my favorite great tasting wine grown right by great people who care about the environment.

Thank brigmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenM300, Public Relations Manager at Grgich Hills Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Thanks for your visit and your review. We hope to see you back soon!

Ken Morris
Grgich Hills Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grgich Hills Estate also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
Rutherford, Napa Valley
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Grgich Hills Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing