We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Auberge du Soleil - beautiful but some flaws for the price”
Review of Auberge du Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge du Soleil
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 12, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Auberge du Soleil for a long weekend for my 40th birthday. We booked a valley-view suite through AmEx platinum travel service. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, and the hotel is ideally located for exploring wineries in Oakville and northern Napa Valley. The room was excellent, with working fireplace, deep soaking tub, and nice terrace. The pool was also great, as were the hot tubs at the main pool and at the spa. However, given the room rates, we expected the service to be better than it was. Examples: 1) I sent several detailed requests to the concierge to arrange winery tours and tastings and was told that a couple of the wineries that I requested were not available, but in contacting the wineries directly I was able to make appointments; 2) my wife and I asked two different staff the name of an interesting plant and was told by both that they would find out - neither did, and I had to go to the desk to find out; 3) we were running late to dinner one evening and asked the front desk to call the restaurant to advise them - they did not, and we ended up waiting 30 minutes for a table at the restaurant; 4) I left my iPod in the room, and we called the hotel to ask them to mail it back to New York for us - they did but charged the $5 postage to my credit card! All told, these are nitpicks that are not major issues, but these type of details are what makes the difference between my perception that $800 per night for a hotel is worthwhile and my perception that the hotel is somewhat overpriced. Would I stay again? I probably would for another very special occasion, just because it is the best hotel in Napa valley. For my next long weekend in Napa, I'll likely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank essexnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 745 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2008

We stayed on the culinary package - expensive and not sure it is the most economic approch. Anyway, apart from the persistent rain our stay was extremely relaxing and very pleasant. Good service started from before we arrived with the extremely helpful concierge taking a great deal of time to organise our trips to two of the best vineyards in the area - Beringer and Frogs Leap. The former in particular was excellent as we were treated to a tasting in the private reserve room and a wine tutorial. Dean was a great teacher, the wine was excellent and undoubtedly result of hotel being 'in the know'. Hotel itself is very cosy - villas are large and very well equipped. Bathrooms are large and very nicely done. Nice terrace that was too wet for us to enjoy but very nice in the sun I would imagine. Views are wonderful - again, spoiled a little by the rain, and the grounds of the hotel are particularly well laid out and nice to wander round. Food was very good - contrary to some reviews I've read. Dinner was excellent, wine good and breakfast was close to best I've had. Seriously expensive place but such a nice experience - in the sun I can't imagine many places nicer to be. Compares very well with other 'luxury' hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

In my opinion the test of a good hotel is not necessarily one where nothing goes wrong - but how one deals with things if something does go wrong.

In our case, there was a bit of a mix up over our dinner reservations whilst we were staying there, which really annoyed me. However, once our concerns were made known to the hotel management it was immediately taken care off and for the rest of our stay the staff really went the extra mile to ensure that we were especially well looked after.

The service around the pool was first class. We ate in the restaurant both nights and we also found the food and service there to be excellent.

I only have 2 niggles that I would mention. firstly, we went to the hotel (as I am sure many others do) as it markets itself as being a tranquil and peaceful (child-free) hotel. the hotel is, however, a very popular wedding venue (understandably). The staff do try to ensure that the weddings don't intrude on the otherwise calm ambience, but this is not an easy balance to achieve.

Secondly - although our upper valley room was perfectly ok, it did not scream "luxury".

However, we did enjoy our stay there as the service and food throughout were of an excellent standard.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dee090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Just spent 4 days at Auberge for my 40th bday.

What a great resort.

The service is first rate in all aspects. The front desk quickly learns your name and circulates it amongst the staff. You are made to feel very special during your stay.

Pool is very nice, with complimentary bottled water, and a great view of the vineyards below.

Hotel bar has one of the best burgers in town.

Rooms are very spacious, with great welcome kits, complimentary stocked frige,and a bag of chocolates.

A beautiful tennis court covered in grape vines, with bottled water and cold towels offers a nice break.

The spa is very relaxing, high touch,and offers wonderful service.

The concierge hooked up with some great vineyards. They have very good connections and got us in to see some of Napa's most renowned wine makers.

If you are looking for a special get away, this is the place. Nothing comes cheap, but you will never want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Recently returned from an extremely enjoyable stay at the Auberge du Soleil. The hotel is screamingly expensive, especially for the Upper Valley suite in which we stayed, but at no point did we feel we received poor value for money. The rooms are great, the staff is friendly and the food, both at breakfast and dinner, was also excellent. Niggles are few: the pool area can become a little cramped when busy and could do with more staff, the gym equipment needs to be upgraded and the full payment taken at the time of booking with a 14 day cancellation policy is needlessly mean.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoginsonetonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

Every detail of this resort was incredible. The view from our Valley View suite was amazing. The room itself was gigantic! Our own private patio, seperate sleeping and den, stocked fridge/wine cooler in the kitchen. The food at the restaurant and bar was very very good! The staff was extrememly helpful and treated us like we owned the place. The price was high but they spoile dus in every way possible. The pool, fitness center, steam room.. All grade A! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank faxdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Auberge du Soleil is a heavenly retreat. My husband and I have stayed at Auberge on three different occasions. We adore the privacy, the views, the service and the newly remodeled pool area. It is a real splurge and people should expect a lot for their money. Unfortunately, the level of service through the Concierge desk has deteriorated greatly over the years. As in the past, I left our dinner reservations to the Concierge department. Without fail, every reservation was botched. We arrived at Redd to find our table had been given away. The Concierge desk made our reservation for 6:45 but gave us written confirmation of a 7pm reservation. They double booked us at the French Laundry and Ad Hoc for the same night. They consequently re-booked us, but ended up scheduling us for Ad Hoc brunch and dinner on the same day. I highly recommend Auberge, but have no confidence in their Concierge. Book your own dinner!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fansynancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherford
6.7 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,332 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,084 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
768 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
8.3 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Soleil

Address: 180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range: $805 - $1,523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge du Soleil 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the relaxed sophistication of the South of France and infused with California soul, Auberge Du Soleil provides the quintessential Napa Valley adult getaway. Nestled within a 33-acre sunlit olive grove, with spectacular valley views, the property offers 50 of wine country's most luxurious rooms and suites and a Michelin Star restaurant and bistro with unparalleled outdoor dining. The hotel also features an award-winning spa, adult pool, fitness center, yoga pavilion, extensive sculpture garden, walking paths and a tennis court. A complimentary Mercedes-Benz drive program allows guests to explore the Napa Valley's picturesque landscape in comfort and style. The property also provides outstanding culinary and wine programs for private events with beautifully appointed indoor/outdoor spaces for weddings, social and corporate events. Indulge in the good life at Auberge du Soleil! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Soleil Rutherford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing