We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Auberge du Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge du Soleil
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We came back for a stay after enjoying the restaurant during a visit last year. Our room was fantastic, with inviting, relaxing and pleasing decor. There is a great sense of privacy, helped by the arrangement of the rooms in bungalows. Of course, the view from the restaurant is stunning, and as a hotel guest it's great to be able to experience the view during breakfast in the morning. The room is stocked daily with lots of interesting food and beverage selections.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpro513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    51
    29
    12
    10
See reviews for
51
477
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was so looking forward to my return visit to Auberge Du Soleil - after my first visit 3 years ago, I didn't think that any place could ever match it. I was also looking forward to my stay in the new Saint Tropez room after reading so much about it in the press. I believed that the premium cost would be worth it.

Pros:
The room is spacious and the bathroom is well designed (like all the other rooms on the property). Outlets are in all the right places and there is plenty of storage room.The room was exceptionally clean and maintained accordingly throughout our 3 night visit. I love the huge 55 inch tv (just wish that it worked - more on that later). Loved the idea of heated tile floors (just wished that they worked - more on that later). Staff at breakfast was friendly and efficient - otherwise, never really saw anyone. In fact, when we checked out, I think that the staff were surprised that we were even there - who are those people? more on that later. I think that my building of 8 rooms was basically empty, which was in part nice, but then I wondered - why didn't they upgrade us to a nicer room, since there is so much vacancy? The fridge was stocked with nice refreshments and a yummy cheese tray was sent to our room as amendment for a few missteps.

Cons:
I can't make the value equation work, maybe others can. The new room was just not as nice as the older room in terms of furnishings. There is no comfy place to sit in the room - it's either the bed or two hard rattan chairs. TV viewing is only possible from the bed. The satellite kept going out in my room, so I basically turned it off. I could get the Bose system to connect with my mobile device, so I had no music. If the floors were heated, I could never tell. Water pressure in the shower was non-existent. Icing on the cake was that the electrical outlets in the bathroom were blocked somehow.

I enjoyed my staysail Auberge, but not as much as 3 years ago and maybe that's just how it works. Will I return, probably, but after they work some of the kinks out of the new room design. Because we never really saw anyone, I never felt very welcomed - sort of a paradox - you want privacy, but not so much that you feel isolated and unwelcomed..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Advourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had very high expectations during our visit to Auberge and they were all full filled!!
Nice hotel, lovely room, full of amenities and other nice stuff, very courteous service (real smiles an lot's of attention), nice pool staff and cleaning and turndown of the room right on spot when requested or when we didn't notice them! The spa is also very good with great therapists.The view at the restaurant is super relaxing and having breakfast admiring the view was a promise of a marvelous day ahead!!
We will come back for sure!!

Room Tip: Stay on upper floor so you avoid listening to the noises that come from above!! We had a corner roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riguzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I would always choose a boutique hotel if we had to make a decision and the Auberge did not dissapoint! Our Napa trip was so amazing that I am actually speechless. Thank you to all at the Auberge for one of our more memorable getaways.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Avignon 1 and were surprised at our beautiful view from our terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 167LauraC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Auberge is by far the Number 1 hotel in all Wine Country CA. There is no other place like this from the hotel rooms, staff, service , spa , pools , restaurant. Everything is above perfection. They even have Mercedes you can take around for no cost. I highly recommend this resort if you are going to napa and wine country . It's in a perfect dental location close to all the best winery's and food. You can walk or drive 1/2 mile to hall which is amazing .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AP411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Food, service, ambience, view... Everything about our meal there was outstanding. The servers are very knowledgeable about the food and the wine, and they are attentive without getting in the way. The food was excellent - we had the pork chop and the ahi tuna. Loved everything in the bread basket. Try to get a table on the deck if you're there during the day; the view is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife booked us for lunch on a hot Napa day. You know those photos you see in fancy gourmet and travel magazines? This place lived up to what a perfect, luxury meal should be.

We sat outside on the deck, overlooking the beautiful valley. The restaurant is perched on the edge of a cliff, so the view is impressive and unimpeded. It was a warm day and the A/C was cranking inside, but to sit outside (just a bit overheated) with the ceiling fans overhead was the place to be. At least 40% of my enjoyment of the meal was based on the location/ambiance/view.

The service was universally perfect. The head waiter was friendly, knowledgeable and approachable (not snooty at all.) The staff kept water glasses full (important when it's hot) and removed used plates unobtrusively.

The food: In a word, amazing. So often, fancy or famous places disappoint when it comes to the food, but that was definitely NOT the case here. I had the heirloom tomato mozzarella salad followed by seared ahi tuna. Both were prepared to perfection. Everyone at the table (including kids 8 and 10) really enjoyed their food.

The wine and beer selection was excellent and the waiter was a big help in assisting us with our selections. For dessert he suggested the profiteroles, which weren't on the menu, but he said, "We'll make them for you." Fantastic!

To sum up, if you want an A+ meal in an almost magical location, this is a place to go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhsgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherford
6.7 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,300 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,988 reviews
6.9 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
894 reviews
8.3 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Soleil

Property: Auberge du Soleil
Address: 180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge du Soleil 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Du Soleil is a prestigious luxury resort and spa with a world renowned restaurant nestled within 33 sunlit acres of Rutherford Hill in beautiful Napa Valley, California.• 50 Luxurious suites and rooms boasting unsurpassed views of the valley vineyards • Michelin-starred restaurant with bistro and bar overlooking the valley on wrap around decks • Award-winning luxury Spa • Exclusive pool with lounge• Fitness center, open-air movement studio, yoga pavilion and tennis courts• 5 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events• A comprehensive art collection of outdoor sculpture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Auberge du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Soleil Rutherford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing