We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast view ever!!”
Review of Auberge du Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auberge du Soleil
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had very high expectations during our visit to Auberge and they were all full filled!!
Nice hotel, lovely room, full of amenities and other nice stuff, very courteous service (real smiles an lot's of attention), nice pool staff and cleaning and turndown of the room right on spot when requested or when we didn't notice them! The spa is also very good with great therapists.The view at the restaurant is super relaxing and having breakfast admiring the view was a promise of a marvelous day ahead!!
We will come back for sure!!

Room Tip: Stay on upper floor so you avoid listening to the noises that come from above!! We had a corner roo...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riguzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
There are newer reviews for Auberge du Soleil
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 723 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I would always choose a boutique hotel if we had to make a decision and the Auberge did not dissapoint! Our Napa trip was so amazing that I am actually speechless. Thank you to all at the Auberge for one of our more memorable getaways.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Avignon 1 and were surprised at our beautiful view from our terrace.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 167LauraC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Auberge is by far the Number 1 hotel in all Wine Country CA. There is no other place like this from the hotel rooms, staff, service , spa , pools , restaurant. Everything is above perfection. They even have Mercedes you can take around for no cost. I highly recommend this resort if you are going to napa and wine country . It's in a perfect dental location close to all the best winery's and food. You can walk or drive 1/2 mile to hall which is amazing .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AP411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Food, service, ambience, view... Everything about our meal there was outstanding. The servers are very knowledgeable about the food and the wine, and they are attentive without getting in the way. The food was excellent - we had the pork chop and the ahi tuna. Loved everything in the bread basket. Try to get a table on the deck if you're there during the day; the view is wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife booked us for lunch on a hot Napa day. You know those photos you see in fancy gourmet and travel magazines? This place lived up to what a perfect, luxury meal should be.

We sat outside on the deck, overlooking the beautiful valley. The restaurant is perched on the edge of a cliff, so the view is impressive and unimpeded. It was a warm day and the A/C was cranking inside, but to sit outside (just a bit overheated) with the ceiling fans overhead was the place to be. At least 40% of my enjoyment of the meal was based on the location/ambiance/view.

The service was universally perfect. The head waiter was friendly, knowledgeable and approachable (not snooty at all.) The staff kept water glasses full (important when it's hot) and removed used plates unobtrusively.

The food: In a word, amazing. So often, fancy or famous places disappoint when it comes to the food, but that was definitely NOT the case here. I had the heirloom tomato mozzarella salad followed by seared ahi tuna. Both were prepared to perfection. Everyone at the table (including kids 8 and 10) really enjoyed their food.

The wine and beer selection was excellent and the waiter was a big help in assisting us with our selections. For dessert he suggested the profiteroles, which weren't on the menu, but he said, "We'll make them for you." Fantastic!

To sum up, if you want an A+ meal in an almost magical location, this is a place to go.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank nhsgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a resort that tries. The staff is friendly and very responsive. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable. The rooms are clean and as others have said not super luxurious but are stocked with all that you could need and want -- soft towels, robes, food, drinks. Breakfast in the restaurant, parking, and wifi were all inclusive. Our room which was a nice size, was perfectly located and we had a great view of the valley from the private terrace. The spa is to die for -- I had great services there. The environment in the spa was peaceful, relaxing and un-rushed. The restaurant had breathtaking views and the food was excellent with an extensive wine menu. They seem to cater mostly to middle age couples but I saw a fair number of younger couples obviously on their honeymoon. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The views overlooking the valley are really nice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a blissful stay at Auberge in August last year. It is a truly remarkable and tranquil place to relax. Nothing is too much trouble and the food is to die for. The views from the pool and spa are spectacular....
I would definitely like to go back!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyVerity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherford
6.7 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,323 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,061 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,043 reviews
6.9 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
8.3 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Soleil

Address: 180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range: $832 - $3,144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge du Soleil 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the relaxed sophistication of the South of France and infused with California soul, Auberge Du Soleil provides the quintessential Napa Valley adult getaway. Nestled within a 33-acre sunlit olive grove, with spectacular valley views, the property offers 50 of wine country's most luxurious rooms and suites and a Michelin Star restaurant and bistro with unparalleled outdoor dining. The hotel also features an award-winning spa, adult pool, fitness center, yoga pavilion, extensive sculpture garden, walking paths and a tennis court. A complimentary Mercedes-Benz drive program allows guests to explore the Napa Valley's picturesque landscape in comfort and style. The property also provides outstanding culinary and wine programs for private events with beautifully appointed indoor/outdoor spaces for weddings, social and corporate events. Indulge in the good life at Auberge du Soleil! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auberge du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Soleil Rutherford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing