We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical getaway in Napa Valley”
Review of Auberge du Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auberge du Soleil
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Magical getaway in Napa Valley”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here celebrating our 25th anniversary. Our room was brand new, just completed two weeks earlier (San tropez 2) it has a beautiful, private outdoor patio with outdoor shower, soaking tub, chaise lounges and a small table. The room and bathroom were spacious and graciously appointed. Drinks (including wine and a Nespresso machine)and snacks are provided in the room
Complimentary with a thoughtful and varied selection. A very nice touch. The hotel has a beautiful 24 hour fitness center that really takes advantage of the hotel's location and special view. The pool area is spectacular, but it was chilly when we were there (and the wineries were calling!) so we didn't get to enjoy it. The hotel has a fleet of Mercedes that can be borrowed on a first come first served basis. We were able to drive a fun convertible that we really enjoyed. The concierge, Sharon was very helpful and knowledgeable and really enhanced our visit. We enjoyed the fine dining restaurant and unfortunately did not have a chance to try the bistro. Breakfast was delicious and a beautiful, relaxing way to start the day. We can't wait to return. Auberge du Soleil is a splurge resort but definitely pampers its guests.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkbmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    51
    29
    12
    10
See reviews for
51
478
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This resort is truly a paradise! Relaxing, QUITE, beautiful, comfortable, only to name a few attributes. The restaurant is delightful with amazing views of Napa valley, and wonderful food, the pool and hot tub overlook the valley as well, with a full bar and service poolside. I did not use the spa, but walked through, viewed the plunge pools, with the same beautiful view. The grounds are filled with interesting sculptures and gorgeous plant life and it makes for a magical trip, wandering through the resort's sidewalks.
rooms are big, dining table inside, and on patio, desk, lounge chairs on patios with a view of the valley. Rooms are stocked with snacks, fruit, wine, coffee, drinks, everything you could want or need. Beds are very comfortable, with fine linens. Bathrooms have large garden tubs with candles, skylights, scented oils, etc.
This is a must return resort for any couple or single who is looking for a quite, beautiful paradise in Napa wine country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationingmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We drove up to Napa for a few well deserved days sequestered, nestled in the hills of our bucolic back door. We weren't staying here, but had brunch, as well as walked around the property. All of it's awards are well deserved, and the acclaim can only be understood by being on the grounds - no photos can really do it justice. It is as relaxing and peaceful an atmosphere as I can imagine. I hesitate about the 5 stars, because for the value not one moment should be off. In this situation, I will say our server seemed professional, but vacant, distant, and robotic. We're not looking for obsequiousness, just a little interest. It's not a small event for us, so we would appreciate engagement (which was, at times, forgetful).

But never mind those dark thoughts! On to the goodies... and good they were. Outstanding house made pastries, muffins, and breads started us off, alongside a bloody mary (downed quickly, it was fine, but nothing to write home about). We moved to a couple glasses of sparkling wine, and ordered the Oysters to start. They were incredible: fresh, perfectly shucked, Wife had the white corn soup with crispy fried oyster and chervil oil. I had the most unbelievable Onion tartelette with smoked salmon, creme fraiche, and watercress. This was the highlight of the meal for me, easily. So delicate, and it just paired so well with the Carneros Brut Rose.

The Main Lobster Omelete was fluffy and in the french style, so slightly softer. It was delicious, but just as she had wished she ordered the tartelette, I was so jealous of her Duck Confit Hash with slow cooked farm eggs, mache, and red wine sauce. It was decadent, savory, and superb.

As for desserts, I am just listing them because they were all insane:

Cherokee Blackberries, Vanilla Struesel Cake, Lemon Verbena Ice Cream, Soft Meringue

Port Roasted Bing Cherry Tart, Chocolate Cremeux, Kirsch Chantilly Cream

Red Top Peaches, Mesquite Shortcakes, Pecans, Old No 7 Ice Cream

Trailside Strawberries, Sweet Coconut Cream, Angelfood, Lime, Strawberry Sorbet

Crispy Filo Wrapped Chocolate Dumplings, Tarragon Ice Cream, Arbequina Olive Oil

Wildflower Honey Glazed Apricots, Toasted Sourdough Bread Pudding, Salted Almond Ice Cream

We got the Peaches and Cherry Tart... a Sauternes and port to match. It was lovely gluttony. It's not a common place treat to end up there, but I am counting the days until we return....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OnlineConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
2,495 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,670 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I found this little gem in the heart of Napa/Rutherford on our way back from visiting Mums, the winery. We actually did not stay there overnight, but went for a few glasses of wine at their astonishing bar located at the top of the hill. The view of the valley from up there was absolutely incredible! The staff was very polite and attentive and their house cabernet was to die for! I recommend going by there just to admire the scenery and enjoy a good glass of wine!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

From the moment we got there until the moment we left it was like paradise. The staff is friendly and attentive from checking in to departing. Rooms were beautiful. Food was outstanding. The breakfast that is included was wonderful and the free use of the Mercedes Benz cars was an extra added treat. I loved the idea of a extra treats in your room that are not added to your bill. Our fridge was stocked with water, juices, soda and beer. There was candy,nuts and even microwave popcorn! I can't say enough about this property if you want a special few days away from the rat race, it is well worth it. It is a short ride to most vineyards in the area but off the beaten track of any noise or traffic set upon a hillside. Beautiful views of the valley during your meals and even at the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is probably the nicest hotel we have ever stayed at, and we have stayed at quite a few. You truly have to be searching to find anything negative to say about Auberge. Room was incredibly comfortable, amenities in the room were unbelievable (the mini bar and snacks?!), and the staff was attentive yet unobtrusive. We used the spa and had great massages. The hot tub overlooks the Valley and adjoining vineyards---its beautiful! The fitness center is fairly small, but was never crowded when we were there. It has an open-air deck with weights, which was very cool. The pool is nice and the staff at the pool didn't miss a beat. The only negative thing I will say (again, see sentence #2) is after we had checked out we had to go back to retrieve a forgotten item and we did get a little attitude/arrogance from the hotel staff, so I can understand some of the comments in other reviews about similar experiences. This is definitely not a kid place and its a splurge, but I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our niece recommended we make reservations while in Napa to eat a "nice"' lunch on the terrace at Auberge. It was a lovely April day and the views were beautiful. Food was very good, service was great. So glad we went! Book in advance!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sb254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherford
6.7 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,300 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,991 reviews
6.9 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
894 reviews
8.3 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Soleil

Property: Auberge du Soleil
Address: 180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge du Soleil 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Du Soleil is a prestigious luxury resort and spa with a world renowned restaurant nestled within 33 sunlit acres of Rutherford Hill in beautiful Napa Valley, California.• 50 Luxurious suites and rooms boasting unsurpassed views of the valley vineyards • Michelin-starred restaurant with bistro and bar overlooking the valley on wrap around decks • Award-winning luxury Spa • Exclusive pool with lounge• Fitness center, open-air movement studio, yoga pavilion and tennis courts• 5 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events• A comprehensive art collection of outdoor sculpture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Auberge du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Soleil Rutherford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing