We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Simply the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Soleil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge du Soleil
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Returned for a several night stay the end of October after a several year hiatus, and the property did not disappoint. We were upgraded and had a lovely room/suite overlooking the valley. The wonderful amenities and excellent wine were provided and the service was impeccable. While we only dined in the restaurant for breakfast (which is included in the rate) as there are so many excellent restaurants at which to dine in the Napa Valley, the breakfast was delicious, always well prepared and a nice selection of items from which to choose. We had thought of staying elsewhere during our recent visit as there are now many nice properties from which to choose, but we were happy we made the decision to return to Auberge - it still remains our choice when visiting the Napa Valley

Room Tip: Depends on what you're seeking - our room had a delightful view of the valley, the friends with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    41
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
39
392
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Gossy and shiney on the surface with a great restrurant for cover. The hotel accomodation at this resort did not meet my expectations at $1000/night. Broken room features not repaired, a weak room service menue, bell people who don't show up when called so a gardener steps up. Then no response when specific issues are identified in a follow-up "satisfaction" survey. Spend you money elsewhere.
Kevin Hamilton

Room Tip: Make sure everything in your room works before the bellman leaves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a fantastic stay here. Previous comments sum it up. Great location, views, service, food quality really top notch. We stayed 5 nights. And pressing ‘book now’ on that reservation really brings it home just how truly ridiculously expensive this hotel is! Whilst it is really really great, I do wonder whether its twice as good as a hotel charging US$700 a night? Hard to know!

Mercedes-Benz – we sampled a few of these… a really nice touch and great for spinning around Napa in!

Dinner – we ate dinner once on site. Got the distinct impression the waiter got annoyed when my wine choice had the wrong number of digits as the price. He substituted himself for a colleague instead. Frankly at both dinner and breakfasts, it seemed the waiting staff were continually hinting about the tip – why else bring you a bill for a meal that’s fully included? A bit tacky I thought, and unnecessary in a hotel this high-end.

Minibar is complimentary they tell you… pity there’s nothing in it worth having. OK as a bloke I was happy to put away the 2 lagers, but there was nothing for my good lady. No gin & tonic, or glass of white wine… Unless she fancied a microwavable bowl of chicken noodles…!

Bottle of wine included – very nice it was too, as you’d expect in Napa!

Great location for winery tours.

Spa facilities were great, and I think you can visit the pools over there even without having a spa treatment. They have a great 3-heat treatment thing where you scrub, then make your way through 3 pools of varying heat. Felt nice to me anyway! And I enjoyed an excellent massage.

Pool area really nice, and the pool itself not bad size-wise. Nice Jacuzzi pool side too. One of the 2 attendants was particularly helpful, the other one less so. We had a load of noise there one day caused by a bridal party hanging about drinking champagne and talking far too loudly in that American way that they do, not caring if others don’t want to hear (again) the details of how she met her fiancé, screaming, and OMG-ing and WhatEVER-ing. They’d benefit from sort of vocab-enhancing course if one exists. There was a kid in the pool once (albeit no hassle from her)) even though it’s supposed to be adults only, I thought. Worth checking.

But all that said, I’m still happy to give it 5* because it’s great, relaxing…. but value? Probably not, but if you’re in a ‘what the hell’ mood. – then go for it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wols88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I loved my stay in Auberg du Soleil, the hotel feels very personal, the food and service are great. they have a restaurant with a very nice view. the room was very spacious and had a very nice balcony

Room Tip: stay in a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We held our daughter's wedding at Auberge and it was perfection. The staff was so attentive from planning stages throughout the event. This is a gorgeous property and EVERYONE commented that it was probably the most beautiful wedding setting they had ever seen. We stayed at the Auberge also and the level of service and the amazing suite was well worth the cost. The food at the wedding was superb...honestly can't say enough about our experience. My daughter and I also had massages at the beautiful spa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motherofthebride1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I just returned form a long weekend in Napa. This was our second trip ot the Valley. Stayed at Meadowood our first visit. Auberge was fantastic. The service, food and accomodations were incredible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Yes, Auberge is very, very expensive. But so are lots of hotels that are not wonderful in all respects. Auberge has beautiful rooms and grounds and a very knowledgeable and helpful staff, from the concierge to the groundskeepers. Food is great.

Room Tip: We had a valley view room. Really worth it. The view is divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dogladymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherford
6.7 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Solage Calistoga
Solage Calistoga
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
15.0 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,638 reviews
6.3 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Soleil

Property: Auberge du Soleil
Address: 180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge du Soleil 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Du Soleil is a prestigious luxury resort and spa with a world renowned restaurant nestled within 33 sunlit acres of Rutherford Hill in beautiful Napa Valley, California.• 50 Luxurious suites and rooms boasting unsurpassed views of the valley vineyards • Michelin-starred restaurant with bistro and bar overlooking the valley on wrap around decks • Award-winning luxury Spa • Exclusive pool with lounge• Fitness center, open-air movement studio, yoga pavilion and tennis courts• 5 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events• A comprehensive art collection of outdoor sculpture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Auberge du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Soleil Rutherford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing