We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Soleil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge du Soleil
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“THE BEST hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I loved my stay in Auberg du Soleil, the hotel feels very personal, the food and service are great. they have a restaurant with a very nice view. the room was very spacious and had a very nice balcony

Room Tip: stay in a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    40
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
37
381
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We held our daughter's wedding at Auberge and it was perfection. The staff was so attentive from planning stages throughout the event. This is a gorgeous property and EVERYONE commented that it was probably the most beautiful wedding setting they had ever seen. We stayed at the Auberge also and the level of service and the amazing suite was well worth the cost. The food at the wedding was superb...honestly can't say enough about our experience. My daughter and I also had massages at the beautiful spa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motherofthebride1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I just returned form a long weekend in Napa. This was our second trip ot the Valley. Stayed at Meadowood our first visit. Auberge was fantastic. The service, food and accomodations were incredible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Yes, Auberge is very, very expensive. But so are lots of hotels that are not wonderful in all respects. Auberge has beautiful rooms and grounds and a very knowledgeable and helpful staff, from the concierge to the groundskeepers. Food is great.

Room Tip: We had a valley view room. Really worth it. The view is divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dogladymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I just got married at Auberge du Soleil and stayed there two nights. Everything went smoothly and as planned. Brittany made me feel at ease that it would go without a hitch and it did. Everything about this resort is first class. I used the spa and only wished I had more time there. The food is outstanding and the views are unparalleled. We have already booked again next year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A marvelous hotel that hits all the right notes. Great location, amazing accommodations and very hospitable service. What more could you want? We only stayed for one night while visiting napa but it was a visit to remember. Auberge puts the "gracious" in service, and though pricey, staying here makes you feel truly wanted, pampered and appreciated. From complimentary wine and snacks, to serene and breathtaking views, to quite good food and dining service, this resort is one to return to. Interesting sculpture garden on the property adds an extra touch to the ambience and feeling of peacefulness you get when youre here. Though we did not use the pool, it looked amazing and the comfortable divans at poolside were beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traxnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

All the other reviews cover the advantages of this magnificently located hotel and its amenities.
There were however two aspects of this hotel that detract. Firstly, there is not a comfortable lounge/bar area in which to have a drink. The current bar has hard seats at tables with a TV playing sport. When we were there it had baseball playing which is fine in a certain type of bar but not appropriate here. Secondly, for a restaurant that refers to itself as ' Michelin Rated ' (could not work out if it really had a star or not) the food was ok but the service was very rehearsed and a little over the top in delivery. We booked for 3 nights but only ate once in the main restaurant. There are plenty of much better options outside the hotel.
Very much enjoyed our stay but would we go back - probably not given all the choices in Napa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adder26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherford
6.7 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 907 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
10.9 mi away
Solage Calistoga
Solage Calistoga
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
6.3 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Soleil

Property: Auberge du Soleil
Address: 180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge du Soleil 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Du Soleil is a prestigious luxury resort and spa with a world renowned restaurant nestled within 33 sunlit acres of Rutherford Hill in beautiful Napa Valley, California.• 50 Luxurious suites and rooms boasting unsurpassed views of the valley vineyards • Michelin-starred restaurant with bistro and bar overlooking the valley on wrap around decks • Award-winning luxury Spa • Exclusive pool with lounge• Fitness center, open-air movement studio, yoga pavilion and tennis courts• 5 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events• A comprehensive art collection of outdoor sculpture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Auberge du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Soleil Rutherford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing