We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably bad customer service with no appreciation for it's potentional guest...”
Review of Giant Oaks Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Running Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giant Oaks Lodge
Reviewed March 9, 2010

This past weekend we were looking for a place to stay close to Snow Valley. We were debating on whether to stay in the Ontario area (we were driving up the night before from San Diego) or if we could find a place in Running Springs.

I came on to TripAdvisor and saw the reviews for the Giant Oaks Lodge. Though they were not great, I decided to check out the "runningsprings.com" website and see pictures of the place and rates. After looking it over, I thought "Well, it would be nice to be 5 miles away from the mountain...I'll give them a call and see if they have any availablity."

This was the conversation - and I'm not adding anything to it for effect:

ME: "Hi...I'm looking at your website right now and I'm wondering if you have any room available this evening for 3 people? I see some rooms with just a king bed and others that looks like they can accommodate more?"
Male @ Lodgel: "All rooms except two can accommodate three people."
ME: "Oh...great...what would be the rate for this evening?"
Male @ Lodge: "Which room do you want?" (They have pictures of each room/number)
ME: "Oh...umm...is room 107 available?"
Male @ Lodge: "No...pick another."
ME: "Oh...um....106?"
Male @ Lodge: "Nope."
ME: "Well, um...we don't really care about the exact room...what room is available for three?"
Male @ Lodge: "Well, we have several. You're on our website, right? Give me a number and i'll let you know."
ME: "Ahhhh....let me look here...how about 104?"
Male @ Lodge: "Available"
ME: "Ok...what would be the rate for that room?"
Male @ Lodge: "Didn't you just say you are on our website? The pricing is on there."
ME: "Oh...ok...umm...I didn't know if that pricing was up-to-date or applicable to this evening. Would it be ok if we arrived late...we are driving up from San Diego?"
Male @ Lodge: "No. We can't do that."

He then hung up the phone.

So, we ended up staying at the Hampton Inn, had a great free breakfast (including Belgian Waffle stand), and in the morning it only took 30 mins to get to Snow Valley.

Don't support this business. This person, for some reason, is unappreciative of the very people who are trying to support his Lodge. The entire time I was on the phone with him, he was cold and seemed completely put-off that he had to even be speaking to me.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank bsm9034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Giant Oaks Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 49 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2010

I booked 2 nights, due to the bad weather condition, route 330 was closed for my first reservation day and we were told by the the police the highway 18 was also closed, so we went back home. When we called the lodge around 4 in the afternoon, they said all other visitors were there and we won't be given any credit due to the fact that highway 18 was not closed, but we can come at that time. It was too late for us to travel with small children, so we went the next day, when we checked in the lodge around 10AM the next day, our cabit wan't not even ready (Our check in time should be 2 PM in the first day), but the owners (both husband and wife) have not problem of charging us two nights.
Our cabin #114 was old, smell smoke and the carpet was in bad condition.
I would not recomment this lodge due to such unethical conduct of the owners.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firsttimer37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We spent 2 nights at this wonderful lodge and will definitely be back. We had room # 109. It was so comfortable...a nice deck overlooking the pool area and giant Oaks. There is an area by the pool for BBQing and relaxing. The rooms are like suites with jacuzzi tub and fireplace and so beautifully decorated. They have a microwave and refrigerator. There were even sweet rolls in the micro! We really enjoyed swimming in the pool...nice and warm and very clean. The entire lodge was so pristine! This is a great getaway for all ages. We'll be back!
Keith and Dianna, Fox Island, WA

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxislandWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Upon arrival, when we asked the man who took us to our room how to operate the heat, he told us to figure it out by ourselves, and rushed out of the room. (I later learned that he was the owner of the place).
The faded and stained carpets from the Shaggy Period looked 30 years old, as well as the linoleum. Tired decorations from many Christmas past covered with encrusted dust and cobwebs were everywhere-- It was almost February. They flatly refused to remove them because “they didn't have any signs saying Merry Christmas”. They didn't allow us to put them out in the deck either.
The biggest cabin had no oven, not even a counter top toaster oven. The morning after we paid in advance, we were told no cleaning of any type was provided, no fresh towels sent, but we could bring our used towels for exchange to the main building (wasn't open ) and we could dump our own garbage. Every lamp, fan, plastic plant was covered with dust and the deck hadn't been swept in weeks. The outdoors featured empty soda cans and discarded papers.
The much heralded in - room spa tub couldn't be used because it was served by a small heater that filled up only one fourth of the tub. The worst part was that our polite requests were received by management with self righteous indignation and disdain.

Don’t waste your money and cheapen your vacation.
J. N. Los Angeles.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MasterKia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

We Went to Running Springs with the intent of cross country skiing. There was no snow, unfortunately, but we loved our room at the Giant Oaks lodge.
We chose room 108 because of another review we saw here and it was great. Very spacious. Big king bed, double jacuzzi tub.
The location was good for us because we weren't going to the resorts. If you are going skiing or snow boarding it's about a 20 - 30 minute drive to Snow Valley, longer to Big Bear. However, it is near Children's forest where there is good hiking and when there is enough snow, there are plenty of places to cross country ski or snow shoe nearby.
The only drawbacks to the room is the double shower was not working, you can hear the above neighbors and the decor is, well, you might like it. It was not to our taste. Mauve walls, deep green carpet, fake flowers everywhere, cutesy mural on bathroom wall and, inexplicably, a framed print of a cheetah above the headboard. Nonetheless, It was quite lovely to wake up with the fireplace going and a view from the bed out to the new fallen snow. (sadly, snow arrived just before we left. Next time.)
I would definitely recommend this place. It is roomy, convenient, the owners are kind and generous and the pool is heated enough to swim in winter.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mslia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

rooms are pretty nice and they do allow pets. pool is indoor and clean. appears to be a great place for kids, but anytime the kids stepped off the paths, the grumpy owner came out and scolded the kids and parents. and it is not like they were stomping on flowers, or wrecking anything, they just were not exactly on the paths. spent the evening around the firepit and we were watched the entire time. not relaxing at all. leave the kids at home and it might be nice.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATHun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

We booked the Rose Cottage, great place for romance. Quiet and nice jacuzzi tub with fireplace. Everyone was very nice, in room coffee, microwave, refrigerator. The microwave even had some packaged danishes in it for the morning. VERY CLEAN.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nowandthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Running Springs
10.7 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
422 reviews
5.9 mi away
Saddleback Inn
Saddleback Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Arrowhead
142 reviews
10.3 mi away
The North Shore Inn
The North Shore Inn
#1 of 1 in Crestline
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
224 reviews
12.9 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
657 reviews
10.6 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giant Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giant Oaks Lodge

Address: 32180 Hilltop Blvd (Hwy 18), Running Springs, CA 92382-2189
Location: United States > California > Running Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Running Springs
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high in the San Bernardino mountains, minutes to Snow Valley Ski Resort. Running Springs Lodge has become a popular place to stay for mountain guests and is within easy walking distance to restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Running Springs Giant Oaks Lodge offers private mountain rooms and cozy cabins with king or queen beds, in room spas, stone fireplaces, cable TV with HBO, telephone, wireless internet, microwave ovens and refrigerators ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Giant Oaks Hotel Running Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing