We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“REALLY TASTY FOOD” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Alvarez

Casa Alvarez
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
La Puente, CA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“REALLY TASTY FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch on the way back from a short vacation and was really pleased with the service, prices, and tasty mexican food! Everything topped with lots of cheese and good sauces. Ambiance wasn't bad either.

Helpful?
Thank irtorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hacienda Heights, California, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A family run strip mall restaurant with a wide selection of Mexican dishes at very reasonable prices. Friendly service with beer and wine, but no liquor.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank tjcola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
268 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not real Mexican Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Visited this place while travelling to the area for business.

I'm from Texas so I'm a bit used to authentic good Mexican food. This is not good nor authentic Mexican food.

I ordered a taco salad and it was not good. Not even close. The meat was burnt, hard and had absolutely no taste to it. I doubt it was even authentic fajita skirt steak. The cheese was gross, like the kind you get out of a can.

The only thing that was good here was the salsa. Thats it.

I won't be dining here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CTK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland Hieghts
1 review
“Great food and better chips and salsa!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The service was great and the food was delicious. Very good value and my new favorite Mexican food close to Diamond Bar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lagoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“My Favorite Hole in the Wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great Lunch Spot -- Food is really good - great chips and salsa - not a bad dish on the menu. Authentic food. Love going here with my work mates for a Friday Lunch. Ice Tea in a big glass - did I mention the chips and salsa ? --- I compare other resturants salsa to Casa A's and have not found any better. Nice friendly service - Ok it is in a Stater Bros - grocery anchored mall - big deal - but inside - it's clean and nice. Great Spot --- I even take stuffed shirt types on Business Lunches and tell them I am taking them to a hole in the wall Mexican place --- they get excited - and all enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Alvarez also viewed

 

Been to Casa Alvarez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing