We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Impeccable Lobster and Crab”

Newport Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 148 Restaurants in Rowland Heights
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Impeccable Lobster and Crab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Based on recommendations, my family and I came here to sample the "amazing seafood" this place has to offer...

It definitely lived up to the expectations and more. The Lobster (though pricey) was amazing. The tastes they evoke out of it is unexpected and awe-striking. The beef melted in your mouth and the fried rice was delightful

Be prepared to wait as the word is getting out on how good this place is and more and more people are coming.

Def a place I will be coming back to.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank indomexikhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decoration better than food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went there for lunch on a Saturday and were given their lunch special menu. We didn't realize that we could ask for dinner menu (had other things on our minds). The lunch special menu had limited selections and food portions were small comparing to other Chinese restaurants. The Shrimp with Black Bean Sauce we ordered didn't have much shrimp in it. Two thirds of the dish was fillers (onions, red peppers, green peppers, etc). Beef Mongolian Style had decent amount of beef in it but the meat was not very tender. Unfortunately we didn't try their lobster since we didn't read the reviews ahead of time. The restaurant is very nicely decorated though, and very clean.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joy4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great lobster dish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I always make a trip to this place to have the lobster when I'm near LA. Their lobster dish is consistently delicious and beautifully presented. The rest of the food is good/standard faire, but very affordably priced.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1024ori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California, USA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Its all about the lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

Expect a long wait and $80 or more for the house lobster, but its worth every cent! All the other food was just ok. The place is very clean with fast service but the sauce on the lobster is even better than the lobster. Very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Zootarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A treat for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

If you love authentic chinese food, then this is the place to eat. I would highly recommended the Lobster, and the French Style Steak, they are my favorite dishes there. However, all the food is very tasty here and they have an amazing lunch special that is very satisfying - my faves on the lunch special are the deep fried whole fish, any of the clam dishes, and the kung pao anything, not to mention the hot and sour soup which comes free with the meal - it is the reason hot and sour soup is now my favorite.

Helpful?
1 Thank eatstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Rowland Heights, CA
Rowland Heights, CA
 
Rowland Heights, CA
 

Been to Newport Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing