We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good wine, Good appetizer, Good atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paul Martin's American Bistro

Paul Martin's American Bistro
1455 Eureka Road, Ste 100, Roseville, CA 95661
916-783-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Paul Martin's American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 416 Restaurants in Roseville
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rocky Ridge
Description: The menu at Paul Martin’s consists of dishes aimed at taking diners back to the American farm with meat raised in a humane and wholesome way, locally sourced organic produce, fish from conscientious fishmongers, artisan cheeses and cured meats from small local purveyors and custom-made bread from expert bakers. The California-centric wine list twists and turns, by glass or bottle, through the Golden State’s fruitful vineyards, with an occasional stop for an Oregon Pinot Gris or a Washington dry Riesling. And behind Paul Martin’s elegantly rustic bar is an interesting array of local craft beer and spirited cocktails with fresh garnishes. Good times and thoughtful food are a way of life at Paul Martin’s local, American Bistro.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good wine, Good appetizer, Good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We needed a place to just talk and relax with a bottle of wine. This was the perfect place. It was warm enough to sit outside with the portable heater turned on. The wine was excellent, Rodney Strong, Pinot Noir, and the Smoked Salmon appetizer (Happy Hour) was excellent. The best part was that we could actually hear ourselves talk. Lucky for us the outside seating was not overly crowded.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank In2massage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    58
    20
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just got into town and had dinner here based on a strong recommendation from the desk clerk at our hotel. Reviews looked good here on TripAdvisor so went expecting a pleasant experience. Unfortunately we were disappointed.

The restaurant was fairly busy for a Sunday evening but certainly not slammed. The hostesses were pleasant and turned out to be the best part of the visit. Our waiter was inattentive and somewhat aloof. We ordered wine and all decided to have their Sunday special - prime rib. The soup/salad was served promptly but then things went into slow motion. It took almost two hours to get our entrees and then dessert. The food was okay but certainly did not wow us.

So in summary we were pretty much underwhelmed. Lots of other choices in the area for the rest of our week here so don't think we will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RLTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great All Occasion Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Paul Martin is a great restaurant for any occasion with very nice food. This is my favorite default place for a nice dinner. The short ribs are amazing......a favorite. A few nights ago we ordered the hanger steak and it is very very good. A little spice and delicious sauce. I ordered it medium rare so it would not come out tough, but it came out pretty rare. Unless you like very rare, I would order it on the rare side of medium or medium. Their salmon is good, not great. The only complaint I have is none of the meals come with anything green on the side. Just a few greens would be nice, especially since I did not want to order a side salad.

The service is very good, nice wine list. Their desserts lack. Dress is anything from business casual to nice dress. There is a bar area that is very casual. Something for everyone. Very nice decor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank notme11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
183 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food - Spotty Service?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Dined here for dinner with a large group on business. We started with cocktails on the patio and the service was quite good, with a constant flow of servers ensuring everyone's drinks were topped off. After moving into a semi private dining area, we had several appetizers that were also very good overall. Calamari was average however the roasted artichoke was quite excellent. The butternut squash soup was also quite good. It was more of a puree and tended to be slightly on the sweet side but very good. The hoisin pork chop was outstanding. This was a LARGE double cut, bone-in chop, that was perfectly prepared and well presented. I wasn't a big fan of the bacon infused brussel sprouts that accompanied my meal as the bacon/balsamic dressing overpowered the dish. Deserts were large and very good, with the chocolate cake and apple crisp dominating the choices around the table. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Service during dinner was a little spotty as on several occasions we needed to search for our server to re-fill drinks and water. I expect these to be taken care of without asking. That said, it was a good evening out on business and would return when I'm back in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C00lwh1p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

On a Sunday afternoon we tried the happy hour. Really tasty little bites including the roasted chicken wings. A very extensive wine list, but settled for the happy hour wines at four dollars a glass. The restaurant has an upscale appearance with friendly and efficient service. We learned that a Monday night special is currently a dinner for two with a bottle of wine for fifty dollars.
We will definitely be trying it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boise1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Martin's American Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Paul Martin's American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing