We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great alternative to Sacramento” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Roseville-Galleria Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Roseville-Galleria Area
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Roseville
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great alternative to Sacramento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

Returning from a trip to southern California, my husband and I wanted to get away from the large city atomosphere and Roseville was the perfect place to stay. After touring all the Sacramento sights, it was nice to drive to the Roseville Holiday Inn Express to relax. They have a nice pool, the rooms are very clean, and while it's close to the freeway, it's very quiet. In addition, there is a wonderful walking path/greenbelt area right behind the hotel. When we were there in April, there were lots of wild flowers. Very nice. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank idahotraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    63
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
57
37
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express in early February on my drive up to Lake Tahoe to ski. Since we were leaving the Bay Area fairly late on Friday evening, we didn't want to drive all the way up to Tahoe, and Roseville is conveniently about an hour from the North Tahoe resorts and a few hours out of the Bay Area, with inexpensive hotels, which makes it a convenient stopping point. The Holiday Inn Express is located not far off the highway, but far enough away that highway noise was not an issue.

I like Holiday Inn Expresses in general as a good, reliable, consistent place to stay, and this one was no different. Aside from some confusion at check-in (evidently Expedia uses their own credit card to pre-charge/guarantee the room, which we didn't realize and were concerned they had the wrong credit card info for us), the whole stay was pleasant. The hotel is clean, bright, and well-kept. The room was very comfortable - comfortable beds with choices of firm/soft pillows, nice bathroom, and some kind of padding under the carpet which made walking around barefoot in the room very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was usual for Holiday Inn Express - a selection of bakery goods including fresh warm cinnamon buns (so unhealthy but so tasty), some hot cooked items like eggs, sausage, biscuits, and gravy, cereal, yogurt, and some fresh fruit. More than enough to fill you up pre-skiing, probably enough to give you a heart attack if you stick to the cooked foods!

The hotel very much suited our purposes for a one-night stop on our trip, but would have been comfortable to stay at longer. I'd definitely stay there again if I were to do a similar ski itinerary again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardtosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

I started a business trip in the Roseville area before boarding the plane to other US and European destinations. Looking back at my trip of multiple hotels, I can honestly say that the first one right here in California might have been the best.

This Holiday Inn Express in roseville was new, clean, friendly and had some nice amenities in the room.

I loved the work desk and high speed internet. The large hot breakfast was a change from the usual cold plastic wrapped rolls called continental breakfast.

I arrived very late and received excellent service on everything, including a great local restaurant that stayed open a little later for me. The night desk man even helped me with my luggage.

Loved the sofa and sitting area, too.

Yes, there are fancier hotels, but this is new, clean, well appointed, has great service..all at a fair price.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelinman_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

I booked this hotel for business and wanted a room that had amenities for the business traveller. This is a newer hotel 10 minutes from the galleria mall and 5 minutes from exit I-80. We booked directly with the hotel.

1) Rooms 3.5/5 - comfortable bed, small fridge with a microwave. They had an ihome alarm for your ipod, a sitting desk, good sized tv (although not flat screen), 4 pillows, good temperature control and adequate lighting.

2) Bathroom 2.5/5 - good size, big mirror and clean. However the smell of their shampoo/conditioner/lotion was somewhat like almond/coconut. They had shower caps, cotton buds, nail file replenished daily.

3) Breakfast 5/5 - Their breakfast was not the usual cold muffin/cereal breakfast. They had scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon and hot cereal. It had more options than the other hotels in their price range. They also have a to go bag available if you ask. They also had cookies (oatmeal and raisin) nightly.

4) Customer service 5/5 - friendly and helpful front desk service.

Overall, for the price ($79 - $99) and the amenities, this was an above average business hotel. They did very well with their breakfast , customer service and cleanliness. However, it might have been a personal preference but we did not like the smell of their toiletries. There is also a strong smell of detergent in the beddings which can go good or bad whichever way you look at it. We would still recommend the hotel for a no fuss extended business stay.

  • Liked — breakfast, customer service
  • Disliked — toiletries
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JedH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
86 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

This hotel is pratically brand new. The rooms are very clean and spacious and they offer every shower amenity you could possibly need.

The staff is very helpful and friendly. They offered great directions and recommendations for dinner.

I will stay here again if I am in this area.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KKAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

I was in the sac. area for bussiness. The check-in went very fast and the staff was real friendly. Got to my room where everything looked very clean and fresh.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurinburg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

I stayed here for two nights while in town for an event. This is a new hotel, and the quality of everything in the room is excellent. The beds were very comfortable, and the room was quite clean. The breakfast area was quite busy the morning I ate there, since the hotel was completely booked, but the attendant did a good job of restocking everything.

Unfortunately due to losing my wallet in Seattle, I didn't have any credit cards, but luckily had another ID to use. Since I had to pay in cash, the front desk clerk was very hesitant in giving me the room, and if it wasn't for the fact that all the other local hotels were sold out I probably would not have been able to stay here. I do feel that a $300 security deposit for a 2 night stay that only cost $79 per night was a little excessive. Later when I came back to the desk to ask for directions to another location near the hotel, the same clerk was there and was rude and gave poor directions.

Other than the issues with the front desk, this was a nice hotel and I had a relaxing stay.

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — front desk service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crash1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roseville hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Roseville
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Orchid Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento-Roseville
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Roseville Inn
BEST WESTERN Roseville Inn
#12 of 18 in Roseville
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Sacramento Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Roseville-Galleria Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Roseville-Galleria Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Roseville-Galleria Area
Address: 1398 E Roseville Pkwy, Roseville, CA 95661-3052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Roseville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Roseville
#3 Family Hotel in Roseville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Roseville-Galleria Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Roseville Galleria Area Ideally located in Roseville, California and nestled between the lush Sacramento Valley and the Sierra Nevada mountains, our hotel is convenient to many local attractions and just 20 miles west of Sacramento. Explore California's natural beauty during your stay at our Roseville hotel. Families will enjoy experiencing all that Roseville has to offer. Local attractions such as Golfland Family Fun Center and Amusement Park, Magic Circle Theatre, the Maidu Indian Museum and Folsom Lake are within minutes. You can shop at the Westfield Galleria Mall or pick up some local produce and crafts at the Denio's Farmer's Market. Sacramento is just a short drive away, so families can easily explore the California capital during their stay at our Roseville hotel. With convenient access to companies such as Pasco Scientific, Surewest Communications, Union Pacific Railroad, Hewlett-Packard and NEC Technologies, our choice Roseville, CA hotel is perfect for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in Roseville. During your stay in our hotel in Roseville, California, be sure to enjoy a swim in the outdoor pool, surf the net with free high-speed, wireless Internet access or work out in the fitness center. You can eat well every morning at the free hot breakfast bar featuring our famous cinnamon rolls. Check out our great Roseville hotel deals and book your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Roseville-Galleria Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Roseville-Galleria Area
Holiday Inn Roseville
Roseville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing