We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very..very bad service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Provence

La Provence
Reserve with OpenTable
La Provence is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 416 Restaurants in Roseville
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Blue Oak
Description: La Provence offers 4-Star cuisine with an emphasis on quality fresh seasonal and locally grown ingredients combining the flavors of France and the Mediterranean Regions. Truly unique settings which suggest a European country estate with numerous rooms and creekside terrace seating. Surrounded by 51 acres of parks and open space, the perfect location for special events or wedding celebrations. Specialize in accommodating groups and events, from an all day meeting to corporate dinners and presentations.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very..very bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The sever treated us like a burden and ignored us for at least twenty minutes after we were seated. Took us over a half an hour to get a beer, i know because i made a phone call right before going into the restaurant. They were also out if several beers that were on the menu.

The food was very good. The calamari was cooked just right, not too common to find a chef that doesn't over cook it.

If you can stand a rude and inattentive server, then the food is worth it.



  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sitka95678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    38
    33
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have not been for a couple years. Went for lunch and loved their menu. Sat outside with music. Crab cakes were incredible. 1 per person is plenty for an appetizer. The deep friend peach salad was incredible. Service, excellent. Plenty to choose from this great French restaurant. We'll be back.

Brad & Joey
Villa 1302
Villa La Estancia, Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bradrocklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not impressed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have a lot of friends who like it here and had suggested it to us. Our first and only experience was not great. Service was not good, and food was definitely not great. Probably won't return.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The food is usually very good - - the service is also usually very good although ocassionally they seem to be a little short-handed which can make for a long lunch session. The setting is fantastic. The interior is so beautiful and the outdoor area is amazing - surrounded by oak trees and nature area. La Provence is not perfect but they try very hard and we are so lucky to have this fabulous restaurant in Roseville.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wweezzyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Snooty and unwelcoming hostess with the leastest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We had to call and leave a message so that we could dine here(wth?!) when we arrive the snooty hostess asked if we had a reservation. We said no. She said well then it will be a 20 minute wait. Then we said, but we did call and leave a message that we wod line to make a reservation for two. She then said, ok, follow me, right this way. (Wth!?). We sat outside in this alley way by the window. The service was good and the food was as well. But our first impression was, seriously people get over yourselves. Live music would have been nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gulfcoastgal2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Provence also viewed

 

Been to La Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing