We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good but it used to be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mikuni Japanese Restaurant And Sushi Bar

Mikuni Japanese Restaurant And Sushi Bar
Ranked #2 of 416 Restaurants in Roseville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good but it used to be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Maybe there are other sushi restaurants that opened recently which are very good in comparison, but I remember Mikuni being absolutely fantastic. Not so sure anymore, seems like they use imitation crab quite a bit. No more miso with your meal... Don't get me wrong the sushi is still very good and the fish is very fresh. I used to only go to Mikuni and that is no longer the case. Oh, and 6.50 for a draft beer (pint) did not help at all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sitka95678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    50
    24
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Always Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Mikuni is has been a favorite of mine since moving to Roseville 4 years ago. So great to be able to find quality sushi outside of the Bay Area. It's definitely a splurge but great for dinner with friends, or a date night. If you really love sushi look into their Sushi 101 class that teaches you how to make it. It's a fun and delicious way to eat your way through learning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We craved Mikuni sushi while we were in Europe, and our first trip back didn't disappoint. Two of us shared a small order of seared ahi and a Sushi Illustrated lunch combo. It was PLENTY of food for two and we left with happy tummies.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seen one - seen 'em all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

ditto - nothing outstanding here except we had a great waiter at lunch. The place was crowded, so it must be popular with the locals. Servings were large and food was good. Ultimately, isn't that what lunch is supposed to be?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Busy but worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was hesitant that I'd find a great sushi place after relocating from SF, but I was wrong! Mikuni's was a recommendation that didn't disappoint. The servers are friendly and knowledgeable about their menu. The place is always crowded but its worth the wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hulagirlsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikuni Japanese Restaurant And Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mikuni Japanese Restaurant And Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing