We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent food and style!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dos Coyotes Border Cafe

Dos Coyotes Border Cafe
Ranked #57 of 433 Restaurants in Roseville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food and style!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We've been going to Dos Coyotes for many years and have always loved the food there,but this particular location deserves extra praise.
Food: creative,fun,healthy Californian-Mexican cuisine. Everything is very delicious,especially the salmon burrito, fish tacos, and Coyotes’ Yin Yang Salad (with chicken). It's torture to choose just one thing from the menu, since everything looks and tastes great.
The portions are big enough for two to share, and the price is more than reasonable. I don't understand how they can keep their quality so high the size of portions so large with such low prices (my daughter's theory is "magic"). There is a self-serve bar with fresh,very tasty salsas and sauces. All of them are very good, and are perfect compliments to the best tortilla chips I've ever eaten.
You order at the counter, and then they bring it to your table. They let you get the condiments yourself (as much as you want). The service that they do have, though, runs at maximum efficiency; it's fast, friendly, and accommodating.
The place is fun and stylish, though casual; don't expect white tablecloths and hundred-dollar wine (though beer and wine ARE on the menu and DO taste very good).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and great salsa bar.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Dos is always good and food is always good and comes out quickly. The salads are big and the chicken ceased is my favorite. I also like the seasonal menu. The new soda machine is really cool too. I only wish they gave you chips with every order so you can eat more of the tasty salsa selection.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alongstrangetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great prices and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We love coming here for a quick and inexpensive bit to eat on our way home from a long day at work and commuting through the terrible freeway traffic of the Sacramento area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseville
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Salads”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Find the south of the border food ok, but nothing stellar. Good place to go for some creative salads.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rstalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good fast food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Well my family is from Mexico and the food here is not like mama makes. Dos coyotes doesn't claim to be authentic, it claims to be fresh. I agree. I like their salmon salad. They add mangos. Their food is always good. I do like their beans but i don't like their rice. It needs garlic ans salt. It is a better alternative to orher fast food places. Healthier for sure. My husband likes it there because they serve beer and it is cold. It is always freezing in there and I have to always have a sweater even in the summer.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sejw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Coyotes Border Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dos Coyotes Border Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing