We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant in Roseville area!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
1179 Galleria Boulevard, Roseville, CA 95678
916-788-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 416 Restaurants in Roseville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Roseville Parkway
Description: Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant in Roseville area!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Second time here in the past year, both times our expectations were exceeded. This time was midweek and there were plenty of tables available. Dining room is beautiful, kitchen is exposed and the staff were friendly and efficient. The two of us sat down at a table set for four, and within seconds the extra place settings were removed...try to find that little touch at a chain restaurant. The wine list is pretty big and they even had local wineries represented. As always in places like this, expect to pay $50 for a $10 bottle. Oh well, maybe I'll bring my own next time and pay the corkage fee. Menu was diverse and everything looked good. They had a seasonal menu attached, which is what we chose our entrees from. Prices for the entrees ranged from the high teens to the mid thirties. Plenty of choices in the $20-25 range. The house sald was excellent at $8 and the tomato bacon soup was tempting. This is now our go-to place in the area for upscale dining at affordable prices! There are a lot of choices nearby, but this place is the best. Great food, well presented, attentive staff and beautiful dining room helped make our night wonderful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silverstater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob R, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I appreciate all feedback and am very glad your experience was so pleasant. I will discuss this review with my wine manager and have her take a look to make sure all the wines are adhering to our corporate formulas and see if there are any opportunities for more price friendly wines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    54
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wednesday night mediocrity.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Well, it's the no.1 place in trip advisor, se we gave it a whirl. The service was good, although we had three different waitstaff looking after us. The wine was good, I had the seafood grill, it was pleasant, but nothing special. I was with good company, which helped the evening, but in all honesty, I probably wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dominic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob R, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
It sounds like the food was not up to the standard it should have been during your last experience with us. I will be sharing this review with my chef to improve that issue. Thank you for your response and I hope you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
182 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“positively delicious !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We always enjoy Il Fornaio with its wonderful breads, delicious salads, great pastas, incredible chicken and fish specialties.. They seem to add even more spice when they offer regional dishes from the different areas in Italy. The ambience, and location are superb! It is a definite 'MUST' !!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jnjdougan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob R, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review of our restaurant. I apologize for not being able to respond sooner as our account access just recently came online. I'm so glad you had a great time and look forward to your next visit with us.
Sincerely;
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I cannot say enough about the service. It was truly friendly, helpful and attentive. Its located in a shopping center, but the outdoor veranda felt removed. The food was very satisfying, I particularly like seafood basil dish.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TaranOakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob R, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks for your Trip Advisor review. So glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us. The patio can be sparsely seated sometimes in the summer when its hotter. I understand how that can make someone feel kind of removed The patio gets much busier in the fall and winter. Hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely;
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good basic Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I understand this is a chain (and it sort of shows) but the happy hour was nice (great service in the bar!) The food was very good - nothing inspired or over the top, but that's exactly what we were looking for. Wait staff seemed aloof during dinner (Monday evening, not crowded at all)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing