We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“THE BEST!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 415 Restaurants in Roseville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Roseville Parkway
Description: Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Victor, Idaho
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Oh my goodness there is a reason this is number one! The food is impeccable and has never failed to be delicious. It's top quality plus the service is good too. I've tried lots of things from the menu and have never been disappointed. Great for families during the afternoon and perfect for business/romantic/formal in the evenings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jordanlovescats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    56
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing salads”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Whenever I'm in the Sacramento area, I never miss lunch or dinner at Il Fornaio. This time was disappointing. The pasta, Cappellacci di Zucca (butternut squash with walnuts) was wonderful, as was the bread.

But, the two salads were UNfresh! The Caprese (vine-ripened tomatoes with mozzarella and basil) had tomatoes that were 2-3 days past fresh (mealy insides). I was shocked, as the tomatoes are the main part of this salad. The Insalata al Balsamico (organic baby lettuces) was served with all of the old, yellow, innermost parts of the lettuce. There is no excuse for unfresh salads--this is California, and there are probably many farms within a couple miles of this restaurant. When I mentioned this to the server, she did not bother to apologize or adjust the bill.
Management needs to have a serious talk with their salad people and a meeting on proper customer service with the staff.

Hopefully, this restaurant is not going downhill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dining experience at Il Fornaio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Il fornaio is one of our favorite restaurants in this area. Excellent service and food choices. We were disappointed on this visit as no veal or mashed potatoes were available. We have always had excellent service by the staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Vista, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Well Handled Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

For lunch I chose Salmon. I'm reluctant to order Salmon because of it's tendency to be dry if overcooked, but the Lemon-Celery sauce intrigued me. I was impressed by the sauce and the moist piece of properly done Salmon that arrived. Kudos to the chef. One companion had Ravioli, another Steak. everything arrived as ordered and well prepared. Everyone was impressed with their meal. Service was good, servers were competent and polite. I've got to remember to go back more often.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EffStop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Place For A Luncheon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We picked this restaurant because it was # 1 Italian in Roseville on Trip Advisor. They were very helpful in setting up a luncheon for our son who just graduated from Cal Berkeley. We had 26 guests and everyone had a great time. The meal and service was well above average.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1947-FORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing