We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 424 Restaurants in Roseville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Roseville Parkway
Description: Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We always enjoy our dinner at Il Fornaio in Roseville. The menu offers many choices. Service is above average.The restaurant decor is upscale and well done.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    58
    23
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good ambience, but average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We came as a group of 12. Our waitress brought out pizza dough for the kids to play with. I had lasagna bc a friend suggested. He and i agreed that it was nothing special. He said it was different this time. My first time, i cannot say. My kids did not like their cheese pizza at all, which is rare for them. The dessert is really good though. We got the sampler. Tiramisu was my favorite. I think buca is better. Came fr la and san diego, i expected a little more since it got good rating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick app visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stopped n for a quick bite and drinks. Amazing decor so homey and gorgeous at the same time. We sat in bar and had several apps and a btl of wine. Everything was delicious (especially the pizza!) and was so comfortable and charming we didn't want to leave. Great job!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank marilyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
184 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A rare good Italian chain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Typically, I don't prefer corporate chain restaurants, especially Italian chains. The food is usually only fair on their best days and pretty unimaginative. However, Il Fornaio is an exception. To be fair, it's not the standard chain. They don't have hundreds of locations and they are much more upscale than most others.

Il Fornaio truly acts as if it's a high-end local restaurant even though the menu is the same from location to location. Regardless, the food is very good, with a pretty good variety, and the service is first-rate. The atmosphere is excellent.

The kitchen is amenable to modifying dishes to suit your taste and however it's ordered, it comes out beautifully. The food is flavored just right and to the right doneness. I highly recommend the risotto which is cooked to perfection.

The pizzas are wonderful which coming from me--a pepperoni/sausage/mushroom guy--is quite a compliment as I rarely like the "gourmet" type pizzas.

Pure and simple, Il Fornaio is a great place to go if you want a nice night out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valleyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always consistent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited last weekend to celebrate a birthday. The service was excellent. We ordered off the seasonal specialty menu and the meal was fabulous. What I appreciate about this location of Il Fornaio is that it is always a good experience. The food, service and experience is consistent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MademoiselleMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 
Roseville, CA
 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing