We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously let down with the service..”
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 442 Restaurants in Roseville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Roseville Parkway
Description: Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Marysville, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Seriously let down with the service..”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Recently I took my wife here for her birthday dinner and we were shocked at our service. Our waitress was very un-attentive and our busboy Cameron gave us more attention than our waitress. The food was decent I enjoyed the veal very much, but the brushetta and polenta was very bland. I ordered the beet salad the beats were good but salad was taste less my cocktails were very good I ordered 2 because I really enjoyed it. The manager did comp our meal after we explained our dissatisfaction which I thought was above and beyond. So over all our entrees were the star of the night and the action of the manager made me feel like atleast they cared about our experience he did give me his card and asked for another chance guaranteeing me a better experience which I greatly appreciated and hope I can update my review on our next visit. I was very surprised about how nice the place is built the floors are very nice and the bathrooms was very clean I hope next time our service is better.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank decade420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    64
    28
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always a favorite”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

butternut squash stuffed pasta...the very best. Il Fornaios are consistent...good service, great food wherever you go...Carmel, Roseville, Sacramento, Corte Madera....Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank inrbty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level Contributor
186 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Yes, it's a chain, but...”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Reliably good. This time we asked for a taste of a wine served by the glass and bottle, thinking we'd like a bottle. Well, we liked it. Shortly, the mana err arrives to tell us they ran out of bottles, and comps us a very nice bottle of wine. This is at lunch. I've never had this happen. Everyone was pleased with their meal. Nothing to knock your socks off, but if you want a decent meal, and you are done with shopping, hard to go wrong here.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ucddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“long wait, worth it.”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This is one of my favorite restaurants to eat. I love the formality of it and yet its affordable, comfy, good food, great coffee and deserts. Even though it is a big restuarant you can carry on a conversation!!! Outside dinning is really nice, toasty with the overhead heaters at night. I don't have any complaints about this place., and when I did complain one time about the coffee, they made me a fresh pot!!! Great job !!!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quality, quality, quality”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

There are WAY too many dining options in Roseville. Thankfully, this Il Fornaio is a no-brained. Always quality service, food, and atmosphere. It's hard to find servers in this area who take their job seriously - this place does. My wife and I come here every month for their "Tour of Italy". Perfect for one who loves Italian. Plus, happy hour till close on Wednesday's! Love it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashevilleluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing