We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Family owned and very authentic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Basil

Thai Basil
Ranked #49 of 424 Restaurants in Roseville
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family owned and very authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Its is quite funky but obviously loved by its owners. The food was very good and well spiced. The service was quite good for this somewhat unassuming location.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TaranOakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Clean, good service, food is not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Maybe I have been spoiled by living in Toronto, or by the awesome Thai food I had in Auburn on Thursday. I ordered green curry - and what I got had the strangest green colour - something like Emerald City in the Wizard of Oz. It was medium spicy but tasteless. The eggplant was not cooked, and neither was the seafood. I left 90% on the table, and decided I really wasn't that hungry.

Sigh - the reviews seemed great - I feel bad saying this is a pass - but I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BmmrBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
864 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“A Casual Dining for a Casual Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent a casual evening dining with a friend in this Thai restaurant. The overall atmosphere is very clean, comfortable and relaxing. The food was a bit on the salty side (according to my taste buds) but overall good. The server even made a recommendation on what to eat since I have not been there.

I always peek on the back room of each restaurant I visit specially the kitchen and restroom. This place needed a little organizing.

Will I go back? yes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Indiana_Jonesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseville
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love Thai Basil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Located in a non descript location off Douglas Blvd. next to the Office Depot, Thai Basil is one of longer standing restaurants in Roseville, CA, going back to when there where not a lot of quality restaurants to choose from. Thai Basil has survived the recession and seems to be prospering which should say a lot about the food and service. I hadn't been there in a while so my wife and I stopped in the on a recent Thursday night. As we walked in we noticed a solo music artist was playing some delightful low key guitar and multiple flutes which is perfect for the restaurants ambience. We ordered the 1/2 chicken and a thai noodle dish. Both were delicious and the chicken was excellent. Even with just two dishes and rice, the portions were more than enough and we even had chicken left to take home. Take out or eat in, it's a great choice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rstalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

It's taken me 5 years to try this place since someone recommended it to me......I wish I hadn't waited for so long. The interior of the restaurant is beautiful.....the walls are done in different, complimentary colors, the furnishing are lovely, the chairs are oversized and very comfortable....and then there is the food !!! I am not familiar with Thai cuisine so I ordered something very basic, the PAD THAI ,( noodles with prawns, chicken, tofu, egg and bean sprouts, sprinkled with roasted peanuts) The presentation was a work of art, almost hated to dismantle it .....and the food was delicious! The prawns were absolutely fresh and succulent, the overall flavor of the dish was interesting , but not spicy, all of the ingredients were fresh and well prepared. I will be a regular customer here, and will bring my friends, too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Basil also viewed

 
 

Been to Thai Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing