We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A true Gem...phenomenal cuisine in Roseville” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Huaca

La Huaca
Reserve with OpenTable
La Huaca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 430 Restaurants in Roseville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Eureka Rd
Description: The initial melting of the culinary tradition of ancient Peru with Spanish cuisine, evolved through immigration and influences of French, Italian, Asian and African people, who modified their traditional cuisines with ingredients available in peruvian geography only. The result: Peruvian Gastronomy, the most diverse in the world. Welcome to the world of peruvian cuisine. Welcome to a whole new adventure.
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A true Gem...phenomenal cuisine in Roseville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

What a find! We love this place! At last, a new restaurant in Roseville worth talking about. We weren't familiar with Peruvian food, but what a surprise. We're amazed by the superior cuisine, stylish presentation and service quality. The atmosphere is contemporary and relaxed. The portions are large to huge, and are exquisitely prepared by Chef Jean Carlo. Chef Juliano is a master behind the Ceviche Bar preparing 7 unique and delicious ceviches with the freshest fish and ingredients. These are not your Mexican ceviches where the fish or shrimp are minced. La Huaca's are made with large slices pieces. Our favorite is the Ceviche De Recoto which has a great balance of sweetness and heat. It came accompanied with yam slices marinated in citrus and spices as well as a side of the large Peruvian corn kernels. We also enjoyed appetizers named "Causis" which are a combination of imported Peruvian potatoes with shrimp, octopus or meat with delicious sauces, and beautifully presented. The large Nikkei Salad is so refreshing.

There are so many dishes we like, but our favorite main dishes are the creamy Peruvian Seafood soup with fish and perfectly cooked shrimp with chili peppers and rice, the slow braised Lamb shank, the Filet Mignon pasta dish, and the shrimp pasta with cherry tomatoes, asparugus in a unique Peruvian sauce. There is such a variety of items on the menu that there is something for everyone. We so like the Peruvian wines and beers, but also like the creative Peruvian specialty drinks.

We highly recommend La Huaca for it's quality cuisine and professional and friendly service at a great value. Thanks to Miguel, the Chefs and servers for making our dining experience so memorable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sibs_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    22
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrific dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband, daughter & I love good Peruvian food so we wanted to give this a try. It was a weeknight & we did not have a wait. We had a marvelous meal! We started with ceviche and grilled octopus salad. Everything was really excellent - my salmon was extremely moist with a chimichurri sauce, quinoa and artichokes. My daughter had duck over some fabulous rice creation -that might have been the big winner. Can't remember my husbands meal - he ate it too fast! We did not order wine.

We plan to make this a regular. Only suggestion is that a bit lower prices would have us returning on. Weekly basis versus our planned monthly 'splurge'.

Good luck to la Huaca! We so enjoyed it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Schlintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California, United States
1 review
“Great Peruvian Cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was the most amazing Peruvian Restaurant that we have found period! We usually go to San Francisco to eat Peruvian food but now we will be staying local! My husband is from Peru and is very picky with his Peruvian food and this way surpassed our expectations! The service is amazing and quality of the food is amazing! The food was very authentic and I just can't say enough about it - you have to try it! The portion size, the price = perfect! The ceviche was mouth watering!! We take leftovers home and eat the next day! I would highly recommend this place!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comida peruano--que bueno!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just ate at this relatively new restaurant that serves Peruvian food. The food was very fresh, tasty, and the service was excellent. They weren't busy as it's a Monday nite, but they are going to add a Happy Hour, so get it while you can! Muy rico! Reminds me of the year I spent in Colombia. Where can you go to get yucca? I had the lamb-tender and tasty, and my hubby had the pork and yucca which he really liked. And definitely get the dessert! Nothing like Dulce de leche!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good Peruvian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I think the correct name is La Huaca, so there may be another entry for the same place here.
We went to La Huaca after a friend reccomended the place to us. We are both Peruvians and we just don't like to drive to San Francisco for good Peruvian Food.
The place is a bit pricey but quality costs, we took advantage of a Groupon discount and had a late lunch on a weekend.
Another restaurant "review" place had comments about small portions and not tasty food. I don't know about that but our food was excellent and with large portions. We ended up taking leftovers home.

We had the Causa sampler, Causa is basically boiled potatoes, skinned then made into a dough. You use that as the base for several types of Causas. In our opinion the Causa a la Limeña and the Causa con Pulpo (octopus) are the best.

We got the Ceviche Clasico which is raw white fish marinated with Lemon, onions and Chilis (Ajis), the sauce cooks the fish slightly so it is not truly raw.

I reccomend the Pachamanca de 3 Carnes, which is a dish with Beef, Chicken and Port with a brown gravy with baby potatoes, 2 types of baby potatoes and a small corn cake. This is more like a 2-person dish.

They have a good selection of desserts but we were too full that we did not have enough room to try them

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank capun1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Huaca also viewed

 

Been to La Huaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing