We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So sad.”
Review of Tower Theater

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tower Theater
Ranked #11 of 23 things to do in Roseville
Attraction details
Sacramento, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So sad.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Badly in need of TLC. Bad viewing, bad sound, and no one seems to care. We want to support independent businesses, but we need some value for our dollar.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I am not sure if the Tower Theater or the Crest Theater are my favorite in Sacramento but both have a great atmosphere. The big screen is much better than the two smaller screens so beware. But, a tub of popcorn, a Sprite, and two hours later I feel like I have been to a mental spa!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“funky and indie . . .”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Tower is the only theater left in Sacramento where you can regularly find independent (including foreign) films. While a bit funky inside, (hey, it's old), always a good bet for serious movie goers. Lots of history around this corner too; old location of Tower Drugs where Sal Solomon started Tower Records, now a great restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pnpontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinsale, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great theater”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Yes, it's old. If someone tall sits in front of you, you might have trouble seeing. Oh well. Great indie movie selection, nice staff, and the popcorn is so much better than the typical rubbish at larger theaters.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbarajohnson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Venue”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Terrific venue with an art deco look. This was our first time to this venue where we saw David Wilcox. The acoustics were perfect and it looks like every seat offers excellent viewing.

The theatre has a bar section where you can get drinks and snacks. There is also ample free parking either on the street or in the parking garage next to the theater.

We are always looking for music venues and we will certainly return to this theater.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tower Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing