We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Fare!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago Fire

Chicago Fire
Ranked #34 of 416 Restaurants in Roseville
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Fare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Great food... The deep dish &
thin crust are very good, but unique in their own way. Family size salads and wings make it a yummy complete meal. The kids talked me into the deep dish chocolate chip cookie topped with ice cream.... All
I can say is wow. I'd give it a perfect score however my wife is always cold and wears her jacket throughout the meal. This has occurred in multiple occasions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angel0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best deep dish pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Just like Chicago deep dish. So large we can only eat one piece, always have leftovers for the next day. Yum. Their sauce is really tasty and the pizza is never greasy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank goldrushgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay
1 review
“Poor Service/Bad Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

It seems the service has been steadily decreasing in the last few months. 25 minutes to get a flat beer ("trouble with the keg"), no one came around to offer a different option. 30 minutes to get an undercooked and cold pizza. Major error in the bill (charged for two beers instead of one, charged more for the pizza than the menu price); surly staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“This Is the Stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We are on an ongoing quest for authentic Chicago food in California. My wife grew up with Chicago style deep-dish pizza, inches thick and heavy enough to be used as a door stop (but who would waste perfect pizza that way?); also Italian beef sandwiches, with spicy, slow-cooked beef dripping with au jus. Since we were staying overnight in Roseville for a meeting the next day, I looked for a place to eat on Friday night. The Chicago Fire online menu sounded like the real thing, so we decided to give them a try. We waited only about 15 minutes on a Friday night--not bad. We ordered deep-dish pizza, plus a salad and an Italian beef sandwich to share. Our verdict: Chicago Fire is the real deal. The surprisingly light and slightly sweet pizza crust, the tomato-y sauce, and gooey cheese all transported us to the Windy City. I would only suggest a little bit more sauce, but that's being picky. They otherwise nailed it. And the Italian beef was perfect. Other than being on a roll that was a little more California than Chicago, the flavor profile was spot on. My suggestion: If they made their own bread, they could absolutely perfect their product. Be sure to order extra au jus on the side for dunking.
The decor here was pleasantly Chicago enough, with brick walls, photos of Chicago pizza restaurants, and a mural of Wrigley Field. But it's the food's flavors that will transport you. We noticed that the restaurant was very boisterous and noisy, but we didn't mind. That felt like Chicago too! Just don't expect conversation over a quiet dinner. Our server was friendly, and advised us well when ordering, and did a very good job overall, despite overlooking some minor needs, such as offering extra plates for the food we shared (the salad and sandwich). The antipasti salad, by the way, was good, but nothing special. A unique dressing would help.
There is no doubt that we will return to Chicago Fire when we're in the Sacramento area again. (There are four locations in the metro Sacramento area.)
One last tip: The deep-dish pizza requires at least a half hour to prepare. We knew to expect that, and weren't in a hurry, so it was no big deal to us. The family next to us pre-ordered their pizza by phone and enjoyed their pizza right after being seated.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B_Pope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went here twice within 10 days because we liked it so much. The deep dish pizza is excellent and well worth the wait. We also had the spinach salad which was very good. Salads come in a variety of sizes which is nice for sharing. Can't wait to get back to the Sacramento area to go there!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicago Fire also viewed

 

Been to Chicago Fire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing