We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Dreaming of the appetizer!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnny Garlic's

Johnny Garlic's
Ranked #160 of 424 Restaurants in Roseville
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Wheatland, California
Level Contributor
357 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Dreaming of the appetizer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I am a big fan of Guy from watching Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. We had to visit one of his restaurants after moving to the area. We were pleased with our visit. We were seated right away and the waiter was very friendly and helpful. The appetizer was AMAZING! I can't stop thinking about it. We had the artichoke hearts which were fried and had a yummy sauce on top. Delicious! My meal was tasty and we got dessert to go. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    29
    40
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mostly Good Food, But Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

The first thing we noticed was that the acoustics leave much to be desired. Even when less than full, the restaurant resonates so that conversation requires one to add to the loud voices.
The garlic fries appetizer was wonderful! So were the meat and potatoes parts of the Venison Oso Buco special on our visit. The vegetables, however, failed to live up to the meat. An example is celery which was cooked to a gummy non-chewable substance. The Shrimp Scampi was excellent. The quantity of that entree was a bit much, so we took home a full meal's worth for reheating. We're unlikely to be racing back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Waste a dime here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

two us sick after dinner, waited a long time, place was crowded, absolutely no idea why because I'll never go here again. Food is mediocre, and industrial. Guy is just a cartoon character attracting the masses.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Muchohucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“just okay....sadly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I love you Guy!! But the restaurant was just ok. not sure if he just lent his name to this place or if he really has an active role. the food was just ok as well. I went with 2 other co-workers. one of them had the house salad-small. it was gigantic! if you go for a salad you will not be disappointed! however, I had the bacon wrapped shrimp over yukon gold potatoes.the vegetable of the day that came with it was brussel sprouts. wtheck I guess i should have asked bc I hate them. the yukon gold potatoes were not good, just a personal preference. I had the garlic soup and it was flavorless. unfortunately I was very disappointed in the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pchess12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, but where's the spice?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Wanted to try Guy's own restaurant and while the place and menu were quite good, I have to say that I was disappointed by the lack of flavor in the meal that I ordered. The French Onion Soup was bland and the Flatbread had texture but not any kick. My coworker had a Cajun Alfredo dish and had the same complaint. The prices were very good, but perhaps we ordered the wrong dishes to sample the Chef's works. Otherwise the staff was great and the experience overall just fine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Garlic's also viewed

 

Been to Johnny Garlic's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing