We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great pub grub!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boxing Donkey

The Boxing Donkey
Ranked #49 of 416 Restaurants in Roseville
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great pub grub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Who doesn't like the idea of a fun night in an Irish pub? Well, this classic establishment in the heart of old Roseville sure fits the bill on a Saturday night. Our party of six called and they kindly saved a table for us. The wine list is limited, but there is plenty of beer and spirits to meet your needs - lots of Irish coffee and Guinness poured. Most at the table ordered fish and chips - a bit too much batter, but the cod within was fresh and delicious, and the fries were outstanding and addictive. Shepard's pie? Great. Corned beef and cabbage? Classic. I had a buffalo chicken salad (spicy!) and pork wings, consisting of three small pork shanks with delicious chunks of meat to gnaw at. Service was personable and the atmosphere was very friendly. Check it out, and dive into the diverse menu and stick around for the music :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1SFOSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good food in downtown Roseville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I had lunch here the other day. It was very good. The service is pleasant. My Shepherd's Pie was delicious and served hot. I try to eat here whenever I am out to lunch in downtown Roseville.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Boxing Donkey is always good for delicious pub comfort food. Besides the staples of a pub like fish and chips and Shepard's pie they have great buffalo macaroni and cheese. All of the portions are large and very filling so arrive hungry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Pub Grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Chef at The Boxing Donkey cures his own Corned Beef. The Corned Beef and Cabbage dinner is really unique and delicious. The Donkey Salad is huge - it is their version of a Chef Salad. I recommend you ask them to add some of their Corned Beef to it, as well. My husband swears they have the best French Fries on earth - I love the Boxing Donkey Sauce to dip them in. They also have one of the most fabulous Clam Chowders I have had, but be warned, it is spicy. And be further warned that the Clam Chowder is only available on Friday. The Fish and Chips are also top notch, as are the sandwiches - try the "Staff's Favorite." Staff is really friendly and service is prompt. This has turned into one of our go-to places for a casual dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA Area
Level Contributor
166 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish and Chips with great fries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had fish and chips, Rueben's Sandwich, and a large mixed greens salad. They were great. The fish was fresh, hot and tasty with a beer batter coating that dissolved well with malt vinegar and the fries were from scratch cooked well for a crunchy treat. The Rueben sandwich was grilled with a hat soft center filled with corned beef, cheese and sauerkraut. We had water, hard cider, and iced tea, however the choice of beers on tap and Irish Whiskey choices were mind numbing.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bw13802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxing Donkey also viewed

 

Been to The Boxing Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing