We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Another pleaseuable experience...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse

BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse
Ranked #12 of 426 Restaurants in Roseville
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Penryn, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another pleaseuable experience...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Met some friends here for lunch as they were passing through. Great atmosphere, excellent service, great food (lots of variety) and everything I have ever had here is great! Don't miss out on their "Pizookie" for dessert!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miked45281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    83
    31
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orangevale
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had the southern fried chicken with mashed potatoes and gravy. My three companions also had various chicken dishes. All of us loved the food, the service, and the atmosphere. The prices were very reasonable, under $7.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sactorose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Long wait and overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere was ok, and the pizza was good. Our service wasn't the greatest and we waited a long time! A little disappointed

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Twice for lunch in a week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great business lunch experience. Our group ended up there twice in a week thanks to their lunch specials. Yummy food at a great price. Friendly staff who had no issue splitting up checks for business travelers .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ristine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lots of Panache but Food is So-So”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We've driven by many times and wondered why there was always a crowd outside waiting for tables. Had to be a really good place, right?

So, passing by around 5pm on Friday afternoon, we decided to earlybird our dinner because no one was waiting. Well, that was mistake #1. We sat for 15 minutes before out LED pager blinked.

Once seated, the wait staff was excellent and helpful. They should have been in the kitchen, as the food proved to be a little disappointing. First our starter of onion strings turned out greasy and the onion flavor was hard to find (although it looked delicious). My hefeweizen pint was poor -- no head at all. Although the menu didn't say who made it, I suspect it was a Widmer, which I avoid when I know. The Biersch hefe served across the street at the Galleria is the real deal. Should have gone there as the food is also a lot better.

I had Mahi fish tacos that had to eaten with a knife and fork because they were single wrapped and simply fell apart after adding some sauce. They were also bland -- which the sauce fixed. The plate includes some triangular torilla chips and two small dips - red and guac green. These dips were the most flavorful thing on my plate.

My partner ordered a chicken breast dish that was pretty good, and generous. It earned 4 stars. But the rest of the meal had trouble getting to 3 stars.

By the time we left, the place was hopping and we waded through a crowd diners outside the front door. Most had kids with them and maybe this explains the crowd. It's a vast place, set up for families, groups, couples etc. Service is prompt. If we go another time, we'll try something else to see if we can do better than 3 stars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Murry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse also viewed

 

Been to BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing