We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice for lunch in a week” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse

BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse
Ranked #12 of 424 Restaurants in Roseville
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madera, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Twice for lunch in a week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great business lunch experience. Our group ended up there twice in a week thanks to their lunch specials. Yummy food at a great price. Friendly staff who had no issue splitting up checks for business travelers .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ristine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    82
    31
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lots of Panache but Food is So-So”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We've driven by many times and wondered why there was always a crowd outside waiting for tables. Had to be a really good place, right?

So, passing by around 5pm on Friday afternoon, we decided to earlybird our dinner because no one was waiting. Well, that was mistake #1. We sat for 15 minutes before out LED pager blinked.

Once seated, the wait staff was excellent and helpful. They should have been in the kitchen, as the food proved to be a little disappointing. First our starter of onion strings turned out greasy and the onion flavor was hard to find (although it looked delicious). My hefeweizen pint was poor -- no head at all. Although the menu didn't say who made it, I suspect it was a Widmer, which I avoid when I know. The Biersch hefe served across the street at the Galleria is the real deal. Should have gone there as the food is also a lot better.

I had Mahi fish tacos that had to eaten with a knife and fork because they were single wrapped and simply fell apart after adding some sauce. They were also bland -- which the sauce fixed. The plate includes some triangular torilla chips and two small dips - red and guac green. These dips were the most flavorful thing on my plate.

My partner ordered a chicken breast dish that was pretty good, and generous. It earned 4 stars. But the rest of the meal had trouble getting to 3 stars.

By the time we left, the place was hopping and we waded through a crowd diners outside the front door. Most had kids with them and maybe this explains the crowd. It's a vast place, set up for families, groups, couples etc. Service is prompt. If we go another time, we'll try something else to see if we can do better than 3 stars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Murry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing and Not Up to Usual BJ's Standards!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We usually love BJ's - we go to one near where we live in Arizona. This BJ's in Roseville, CA, unfortunately did not live up to the BJ standards to which we're accustomed. I'm rating this average because my meal was OK, but my husband's was horrible!

As I mentioned, my meal was fine;the Parmesan-encrusted chicken (even though they were a little stingy with the sauce). But my husband's meal, the pot roast sandwich, was a disaster! The meat was fatty, there was very little gravy, and ALL of the vegetables were literally uncooked! The onions and carrots were raw. My husband hates to complain in a restaurant, even when something is really bad, so he sat there and crunched those raw carrots and munched down the fatty meat. I think he was so hungry (the friends we visited are vegetarians) that he just figured something is better than nothing.

My husband was so looking forward to a hearty, delicious meal and was disappointed all the way around/

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AZTravelPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“THE PLACE TO DINE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived early and by noon, the restaurant was packed. Service very good and very attentive. Food was fresh, very good, especially the Chicken Teriyaki. Staff appears happy and has a good sense of humor. You can't go wrong here, as evidenced by the number of diners!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank char w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Large Portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Come hungry 'cause the portions are very large. Plenty of attention from the wait-staff. Lots of food choices. A good place to eat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RG-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse also viewed

 

Been to BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing