We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local Mexican Place”

The Original Red Onion Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good local Mexican Place”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I eat here a couple of times a week at lunch time. The service is fast and friendly and the food is good. It has better than average Mexian food. The food and service can be a bit uneven though. Once in a while the service is really slow and the food just so-so. I think that happens when they have a big group in the meeting room area.

If you are looking for a good mexican place with good drinks, the Red Onion works. Works well at noon if you have to get back to the office in a reasonable amount of time, also. It is very busy in the evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryEllenTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    51
    16
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This restaurant has a neighborhood feel to it with couples, families, and groups. It is a large place with small rooms so it isn't noisy. It is our place to take out of town guests as the menu is large, service excellent and the food consistently delicious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RHNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“A fiesta of momentum”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The atmosphere is quiet unique .you cannot receive better service. Save the booth located at the corner side from the hot and cold appetizers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A6pot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A really great place to eat. Food tastes fresh and the service is very good and friendly. One of our favorites when we are in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Countrydude4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mex anywhere”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have eaten here for 30 years and it NEVER disappoints me. Absolutely the best Mexican food anywhere, and I have been everywhere!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Red Onion Restaurant also viewed

Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
 
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Rolling Hills Estates, CA
 
Rolling Hills Estates, CA
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
 

Been to The Original Red Onion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing