We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Review Highlights
great venue with excellent acoustics

went to see Dave Koz and friends for their annual Christmas show which did not disappoint. We've... read more

Reviewed January 8, 2019
Rich L
,
San Francisco, California
Dav Koz and friends Christmas concert

Dav is one of the most amazing musicians and entertainers, you just know how passionate he is about... read more

Reviewed January 6, 2019
evette412
,
Rohnert Park, California
via mobile
Read all 87 reviews
  
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
58
21
4
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
58
21
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lawn seating great concert concert venue sonoma state university chris botti fireworks show fabulous venue olive trees santa rosa for sale acoustics performers stage gmc opera architecturally picnic
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 87 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018

End of summer concert on the lawn was great with Tower of Power and Average White Band. Music venue is excellent. Free parking was a throwback to many years gone by - like TOP and AWB! Food and drink service was spotty. We signed up for the food and wine pairing before the event. Turned out to be just a wine tasting event held in the garden behind the restaurant. Sonoma Cutrer wine was excellent but some appetizers along side would have made it so much better. Their nice restaurant was right there - but no service in the garden. I went inside to order something, servers everywhere and no one could help. Had to order from the bar and it was three deep with cocktail orders. Asked for the manager and made it happen but 'twas a struggle. May go back to try the restaurant as the cheese plate was very good. Concert was great. Bring and extra layer as the evening air gets cool.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

We enjoyed the acoustics in the Weill Hall so much during previous concerts that we weren't sure what it would be like hearing the show from the lawn outside. But the speakers (huge!) and the large video screen of the stage inside made it very pleasant. The tables were lined up on the lawn with easy identification letters and we set up our picnic at 5:30 to enjoy the two hours before the concert started. No liquids are allowed inside but you can bring your water bottle to fill at the dispenser and, of course, there's lots of wine (by the glass or bottle) available for sale. We had a lovely evening - the music was great, the weather cooperated, and our picnic delightful. A must do for a summer event!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

We just saw Chris Botti on the outdoor grass at Green Music Center, our second concert on the grass here. What a wonderful experience. Although you are quite aways from the stage, a large screen provides close ups of the performers and the acoustics were excellent both times. The grass part of the venue offers not only a less expensive ticket, but also a great, relaxing way to spend an evening with friends. We got there early, brought lawn chairs, blankets, and food, purchased wine by the bottle (good selection and reasonable at $32 to $44 per bottle) and enjoyed each others company on a beautiful summer evening. Then, of course, we enjoyed an excellent concert. Tip 1: you can bring food but not liquids; empty water bottles may be filled after clearing security) and Tip2: Day to night temperatures vary dramatically at this venue, so bring warm clothing. It was in the mid eighties when we arrived and was in the upper fifties when we departed with a mild breeze. Be prepared!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

very nice atmosphere; great concert! We had lawn seating, so arrive early to get good seats. Some seating is behind trees and not able to see fireworks, but otherwise fun time!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank vlr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

we went to the GMC for the fireworks show! It was magnificent! The food was good, plenty of things to do for the kids. Nice selection of becerages.... Just wish they served coca-cola instead of pepsi!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Chantal707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews