We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy staff, clean and quality/plentiful meals”
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #10 of 126 Restaurants in Rohnert Park
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Captain Cook, Hawaii
Level Contributor
278 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Happy staff, clean and quality/plentiful meals”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Good prices and value. We walked from our hotel room and ate there three times in two days including breakfast. they even let us brew some of our Kona Coffee we brought with us from Hawaii. We shared some with the crew. They loved it. We had a large group at dinner one nite and the service was excellent, the food hot. And you can carry out too-especially the great deserts for eating later when not so full.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    34
    19
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cotati
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Aweful!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The last time i stopped here for breakfast it was not good,service was slow and crude at best, tables were dirty, had to ask for a wet rag to wipe my own table waitress still didn't get the hint, ordered and sat for at least half hour, for breakfast? when the food arrived the sausages were cold sent them back and they came back the same way, told our waitress for the second time when I was checking out and she went back to the kitchen to tell the cook which only spoke spanish, he just blew her off and laughed, needless to say won't be back....

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gweedore55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food poor planning”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went there for breakfast on Sunday. We gave our names and waited. When they called our name, there were 2 groups ours and another one. They seated the other group first (they had 3 we had 5), but crossed both names off the list. After they seated 2 larger groups ahead of us, I went to the desk and asked what happened. They promised to seat us next, which they did. The rest of the meal wasn't any better. It took almost 10 minutes to pay our bill. They had 1 register open a group of 6 people were ahead of us, each with their own check. The manager never made an offer for a discount a free cup of coffee or anything. Not a good experience. But the food is very good, and they give you a lot of it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jvilla2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Family Food”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This restaurant is just off the freeway and serves wonderful meals all the time. The portions are great and the cost is very very reasonable. This is a family style restaurant like they all were years ago. Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, or a late night bite you can not go wrong with this Black Bear Diner or any of the other ones you come across.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichK_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

All was good. Good portions, not a long wait and the waitress was on her toes and pleasant. Little over priced though.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

Rohnert Park, Sonoma County
Rohnert Park, Sonoma County
 
Rohnert Park, Sonoma County
Rohnert Park, Sonoma County
 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing