We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel - good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rohnert Park
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very good hotel - good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Doubletree in Rohnert Park. It was our first time in the wine valley and felt that we made a good choice in the hotel. It's not in the heart of all the wine activities but easy enough to access - so for the price, it's worthwhile. The signage to the hotel was a bit confusing - since there is an office (?) complex that also says Doubletree on it but we were relieved to see that the hotel property was separate from it.

Positives: overall great stay. They have great service- very attentive at the front. Room was spacious. Loved the double sink in the bathroom area. They had a pool table in the library - which we didn't use but I think it's free to play. There was a pool in the courtyard - though we didn't have time to use it. We used the gym which wasn't big but sufficient (though at 9am on Sat, it was PACKED and you had to wait for the machines). Nice open lobby space which connects you to the courtyard space.

Negatives: Not exactly in the heart of wine country so you have to drive a bit. Not the best place for dining out - The hotel did have a restaurant but we preferred to explore the town a bit so you're best to drive at least to Santa Rosa for a meal otherwise you're stuck with Applebee's or Chili's to go. The "lanai" porch area has a nice woodsy view but actually are all connected to your neighbor's (photo attached) so there's not much privacy. You felt like you had to keep the curtains closed.

We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The one bad thing that happened was on Friday evening, after a long day driving around, we were ready to just relax in front of the tv by 9pm for the rest of the evening and the TV was not working all night(apparently, they'd done some work on the roof top which disconnected their service). They don't have free wifi either (you can use the pcs in the biz ctr but it's got a 10 min time limit for free use) so we were a bit miffed... We felt a bit stranded because there's not much to do after 9pm in the area... they gave us free breakfast instead. The TV was working in the morning but no HBO... It's something I look forward to after a long day so was unfortunate that it happened when we were there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    466
    222
    70
    37
See reviews for
308
467
66
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

The facilities were a little dated however the staff was very helpful. We especially enjoyed a complimentary wine and cheese tasting and the chocolate chip cookies. Our room was near the gym and pool so there was a some noise of people going through the gate. The gym had all the essential equipment, headphones, and water. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liltravelbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

We stay here a couple times a year. It is generally a sad time for us, as we are usually turning in a dog we have trained for service work. Because of this, there are usually 5-10 puppy raisers here at a time, so it is fun. Check in is always a breeze. We really love that the ground floor rooms open out to a patio, makes it MUCH easier with the dogs. The bathrooms are large and spacious. The staff is always very accomodating. It is one of our favorite places to stay in California. We usually order room service and they are always prompt and the food is good.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcon10t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

Dropped in paid $115 per night stayed 2 nights (Sat & Sun). Front desk has wine tasting coupons. We discovered this from hotel staff. We were never offered them when we inquirred at the desk. Awkward. We took a wine tour. Pricey and no lunch included. Weekends: Request room away from the event/reception room. Got very loud. Nice little Gym but no air. Happy Hour Lettuce wraps & Quesadilla at the nearby restaurant were very good. Lots of nearby grocery stores and restaurants. Monday Kayak on the Russian river was so fun. So much to do in Sonoma, the hotel could use a concierge. Room was clean.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kka57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

Wow- I am not one to complain, so realize that as you read this- Went up to Sonoma for a couple days for my daughters summer orientation at the school, and they recommended this place...Bad choice: We requested king bed : didn't get because we checked in late (we told them we were going to check in late when we made our reservations, and the girl at the front was curt, and didn't really care they gave us 2 queens)- non smoking at this hotel means, that they are NOW non-smoking, but the 'smoke smell' still exists in the room because that "cottage cheese" ceiling is still there, and you can't get the smoke out no matter how much cleaner you use (renovated rooms, but too cheap to scrap that off the ceilings, and oh, the TV's are about 10 years old) Also requested towels because they cleaned our room while we were out running - had to call a couple times for them to bring them to us. The fitness room is exactly that...a room (a converted guest room - thus very small) They also make you pay for wireless internet access at $10 a day, and then no instant check out- you have to go down and check out (no bill under door at final night) AVOID THIS PLACE

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scores11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_WC, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, July 2, 2009
First of all, I would like to apologize that you were not given a “10” Experience. On behalf of the hotel we feel it is important to address your concerns personally. We thank you for your comments and we work hard to correct negative experiences. Bed type requests should always be honored and we are working with our Front Desk Agents to be more pro-active on guests that arrive late in the night to ensure their requests. Curt, is not a way we treat our guests. Our culture here at the Doubletree is ~ Welcoming, Attentive, and Helpful, again, I apologize you were unable to experience our true culture. This is being addressed as well.

We are updating our guest room TV’s to Flat Screen’s in the near future. Although our Fitness Center is not the size of many larger hotels, it has state of the art Precor Equipment that is only a few months old. Our Fitness Center, although may seem small, is of appropriate size for a hotel with 245 guest rooms and does include Treadmills (with TV’s), Free Weights, Mats, Exercise Balls, and much more. We do charge in room internet service of $9.95 per day, as most full-service hotels in our area, but we do offer complimentary access in our lobby, restaurant and most public areas.

I would like to thank you again for your feedback and let you know we are working hard to perfect these items you have addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

Got an exceptional rate for 2 nights from Priceline, paid less than a third of the posted rate. Overall a good hotel for your visit in the Sonoma area; good size, clean room. Large parking lot, helpful staffs. We were assigned to a room close to the far North end of the hotel which has a secondary elevator which takes to right to the far end of the parking lot by the tennis court that really helps as it would be a long walk from the main enterance via the main elevator if you are travelling with a 2-year old. Pool area is clean but the pool doesn't seems to be heated so we hang-out in the hot-tub which the temperture varies significantly from day to day. The lobby area was nice, the room and the corridors could use some updating but again for what I paid I couldn't ask for more. As suggested by many fellow tripadvisors, we ate at Hana Japanese restaurant located just outside the hotel which was exceptional, comparable if not exceed some of the better Japanese restaurant in Vancouver, BC.
Overall a good choice when you're visiting the Somona wineries and don't forget to try the complimentary double chocolate chip cookies at the front-desk which are available anytime in the afternoon. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekkwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_WC, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, June 24, 2009
We love to hear that our guests have enjoyed a great stay. Thank you so much for you comments and feedback and especially the mention of our 2nd elevator. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a “10” experience at our pool. We do heat our pool seasonally as opposed to year round so it may not have been heated at the time of your visit. And yes, our Doubletree Chocolate chip cookies are very popular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

Enjoyed my time at this hotel. The bed was comfortable, the staff were friendly and it was nice and clean.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arwen109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_WC, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, June 16, 2009
It is nice to hear you enjoyed you stay at the Doubletree. May through October is such a great time to come and visit the Wine Country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rohnert Park
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rohnert Park - Sonoma County
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#4 of 10 in Rohnert Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
9.4 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 1 Doubletree Dr, Rohnert Park, CA 94928-1336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Rohnert Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rohnert Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central wine country location, the Doubletree Hotel Sonoma Wine Country puts you near 300 wineries, great scenic destinations and popular attractions. We are just an hour away from the San Francisco Bay area and 20 minutes from Charles Schulz (Sonoma County) Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Sonoma Wine Country
Doubletree Rohnert Park
Rohnert Park Doubletree
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country Rohnert Park, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing