We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautifully appointed luxury in Wine Country!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Doubletree Drive, Rohnert Park, CA 94928   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Rohnert Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed luxury in Wine Country!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This truly lovely hotel is a great place to stay for any activity around Santa Rosa and area.
Lobby is spacious and desk staff prompt and courteous.
-The rooms are of a generous size and we unexpectedly had a balcony.
- try the hot tub, but request robes which they will bring. They even have a mechanical lowering chair to lower persons with disabilities into it. New to me- amazing.
- restaurants seem good and attractively designed. Business centre is in a huge library area , complete with billiards if you want.
- they were so accommodating because I needed my luggage weighed and they did so with a smile.
-luxurious and so worth it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Laura154945,
This property has gone through so many positive changes over the years and we’re so glad you noticed. The accommodations you’ve mentioned for our disabled guests are up-to-date with ADA Standards, and we’ve updated our business center to be top of the line as well. We’re so thrilled to hear you mention so many positive things about our property, and are equally thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you’ll think of us again if you ever return to the area!

Best regards,
Kathy McGee
Front Office Supervisor
(707)584-5466
Katherine.mcgee@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    420
    197
    63
    35
See reviews for
264
408
61
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were headed up north and wanted to break up the trip without breaking our budget. We booked online ,paid in full ,no refunds: $109. We were so very surprised and pleased when we arrived. It was so impressive in size and appearance that my husband said" "are your sure we are at the right hotel?"
I specifically looked for a place not on hi way 101, but close access because we are light sleepers. The place is beautiful, well appointed and QUIET! I was amazed that it looked so new for an older built building-well maintained. I also didn't expect a full dining room or so many amenities for that price either. The bed was very comfy and with a full tub a hot bath was great after a 6 hour car ride.
Staff were very professional as well.Highly recommend this lovely Hilton.
Almost didn't want to continue up north- just sty in the area at the hotel☺☺

Room Tip: Depending upon your needs: research the area a bit and refer to the map of where the hotel is locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Julia S,
How nice to be the pleasant surprise at the end of your day! You’re very right – our hotel has been here for many years, but we have done our best to keep renovations current and our rooms comfortable. To know that we made such a good impression on such short notice tells us that we are doing things right, and we want to continue to do so. Thank you so much for your glowing review, and please think of us again if you ever return to the area! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Kathy McGee
Front Office Supervisor
(707)584-5466
Katherine.mcgee@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during a short trip up to wine country. It's easy access from the 101 highway made it a great base for day trips around wine country, and it's not as expensive as staying in the heart of Sonoma or Napa.

The room was up to par with the price. There's a nice pool/courtyard for families or summer lounging. There's a golf course right there, plenty of room for a jog outside and a decent work out room if you prefer to stay inside. It was also a good place to host an event with plenty of ballroom space.

It's not a luxury spot by any means, but if you'd prefer to stay on the cheaper side for wine country instead of having all the bells and whistles, this hotel is not a bad way to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the lobby if you don't have luggage with wheels as some rooms are quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear benhold09,
That’s the thing about “destination” hotels – they tend to be very expensive. In my personal experience, looking a little bit outside of the destination will sometimes find you in a better location with a better price. We’re glad we could offer that for you! Nearly any place that you’d like to visit in Sonoma County is within a 35 minute drive from our location. If you’d like to visit us again – we’ll be offering a bit more for our peak season in the way of Wine Country amenities to our guests. Complimentary Wine Tasting on Friday Nights will start on April 1st, and we’re pleased to say that we’ll also be hosting a Happy Hour starting on that date as well! We hope you’ll visit again soon!

Best regards,
Kathy McGee
Front Office Supervisor
(707)584-5466
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here because we were spending the weekend wine tasting in the Sonoma area and nothing else was available that weekend under $300 or $400 dollars.

When we arrived there was no bellman, no carts, no nothing out front. Yes, the parking was free, but we had quite a hike with our bags from the parking lot since there is only the front entrance through which you can enter. The place was noisy. There were people running up and down the halls. There were very loud parties going on in two rooms on our hallway. Luckily our room was further away from them.

It is a fine place to stay if you just need to crash for the night, (bring earplugs) but I would never make this a destination hotel. There are plenty of other places nearby that are much better. For the price, I expected more. This is not a hotel, hotel implies service, this place had next to none.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luluguiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Luluguiness,
We get all kinds here at our property – families, wine connoisseurs, sports teams, conventions and more. It does make it a unique destination property, but Sonoma County is unique destination in and of its own. We’re very sorry that you found our service lacking – we do our best to provide the highest quality service and amenities, and welcome you to visit us again so that we can make a better impression. I would very much like to speak with you about your stay and see if there is anything we can do about creating a better impression in the future. You're welcome to contact me directly in this regard.

Thank you so much for taking the time to consider us and to review your experience. It is very much appreciated!

Best regards,
Kathy McGee
Front Office Supervisor
(707)584-5466
Katherine.mcgee@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel is very easy to access of 101 and was very clean and comfortable and beautifully green. The breakfast buffett was very satisfying and had lots of food to choose from. I did have a small issue at check-in where an online offer I booked did not seem to show up on Doubletree's side. After speaking with the person at the front desk he contacted the manager who over compensated me for the mix-up. i was very impressed at their high level of customer service and willingness to make their customers happy. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: There is a pool in the courtyard and sound from the pool area can travel up to the rooms. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meesh422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Meesh422,
You’re quite welcome! The property is quite lovely, and we do our best to provide the highest quality in dining and service around. We’re very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, despite the small hiccup you encountered along the way. Keep us in mind in the future should you ever return the area! We’d be happy to have you!

Best regards,
Kathy McGee
Front Office Supervisor
(707)584-5466
Katherine.mcgee@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

They had a lot of positives that outweigh the negatives. Let's start with positive:

1) free parking 2) warm cookies at check in 3) huge beautiful lobby with working fireplace, pool table, computers with free printing and a bar open on weekends 4) you can get free wi-fi in your room if you ask for a promotional code from the front desk, that was very helpful! 5) beautiful courtyard with hot tub and pool 6) fitness center with free ear buds 7) the rooms without a balcony were HUGE and bigger than the ones with a balcony with two sinks 8) comfy bed and pillows

Overall, I enjoyed my weekday stay here. I went for February break to visit family and it was very quiet. Being from New England, we thought it was warm enough to swim, but stayed mostly in the hot tub. The front desk happily gave us toothbrushes and toothpaste when I asked for them. I even asked to change rooms one night so we could be closer to the elevator (it was a little bit of a walk).

The negative is that their hotel was undergoing MAJOR constructions on the first floor and some on the second that some parts were blocked off and I would walk into it without knowing. And I heard noisy drilling at 6am in the morning. Wish they would have warned me.

There are cafes, fast food places nearby that you can drive to if you don't want to eat at their expensive restaurant, but it is conveniently inside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalixGirl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear CalixGirl0,
Your appraisal of our property is very kind and much appreciated. We do our very best to offer the highest quality in room comfort and amenities, and are very glad that you enjoyed them. We apologize if the renovations troubled you, but I’m pleased to tell you that they have been completed and hope you’ll come back to see the results on your next visit!

Best regards,
Kathy McGee
Front Office Supervisor
(707)584-5466
Katherine.mcgee@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed here once in the past before the rooms were upgraded and I was not impressed. The rooms have been renovated since my previous stay, and I was pleased with the improvement. The double queen room was large, and the extra sink outside of the bathroom was convenient since two of us shared the room. We were in a room on the third floor in the back of the building and found it quiet and peaceful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsudoughnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear tsudoghnim,
Welcome back! We’re glad you decided to give us another chance, and appreciate all of the kind words! We just recently finished renovations of our hallways as well and hope that you’ll visit us again soon to let us know what you think! We’re updating a little more all of the time, and are very happy to hear that you’ve enjoyed the changes!

Best regards,
Kathy McGee
Front Office Supervisor
(707)584-5466
Katherine.mcgee@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rohnert Park
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rohnert Park - Sonoma County
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#3 of 8 in Rohnert Park
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
0.3 mi away
Good Nite Inn Rohnert Park
Good Nite Inn Rohnert Park
#4 of 8 in Rohnert Park
3.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 1 Doubletree Drive, Rohnert Park, CA 94928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Rohnert Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Rohnert Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central wine country location, the Doubletree Hotel Sonoma Wine Country puts you near 300 wineries, great scenic destinations and popular attractions. We are just an hour away from the San Francisco Bay area and 20 minutes from Charles Schulz (Sonoma County) Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Sonoma Wine Country
Doubletree Rohnert Park
Rohnert Park Doubletree
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country Rohnert Park, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing