We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice property.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rohnert Park
Certificate of Excellence
Steamboat Springs
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice property.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our daughter is at Sonoma State University, so we stay here often. I like the gym and the Starbucks located on site. Beautiful pool and landscaping. Rooms are nice too. One complaint. Quit charging for Internet usage.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great. Also, keep your eye on the Hilton site. They change rates quite frequently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteamboatScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    459
    217
    70
    37
See reviews for
303
457
65
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a large hotel and conference center located on a golf course. It is easy to get to from the freeway that connects Santa Rosa and the Bay Area. The rooms are clean, large, comfortable and recently updated, but are not luxurious by any means. Long corridors make for a lot of noise from other guests. Walking distance to a couple of restaurants and a convenience store, but otherwise quite isolated. Staff were generally very good. In-hotel restaurant was OK for breakfast but not dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard; these have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKD_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

As part of a large group it is as you would expect. All you need is there. It is very easy to find being only 1/4 mile from i101 highway. Booking in was simplicity itself. As with many similar hotels, you get directed to your room rather than shown the way, but its easy enough. The room was nice. A huge superking bed, equally huge digital TV, a comfortable lounge area & a nice balcony overlooking the outdoor pool. The ensuite is only adequate for so big a place & we have had better in lesser hotels. But that really is a nit picking point. Being fairly new, soundproofing is excellent. Breakfast can be anything you want & is buffett style, we had the "full English" which was very nice. Evening meals were fine too with limited choice but we feel it is better done this way with really nice food rather than lots of mediocre offerings. The grounds are surrounded by the golf course & are nice.

Room Tip: My guess is they are all the same - so dont worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NandPOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I found this to be a very nice place to stay. The staff was amazing. The room was wonderful and I only wish I had had more time to stay.
The next time I am in that area I will make a point to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 03redline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel during three visits to Sonoma County over the past four years, most recently October 2012. These trips were vacations for us, focused on exploring wine country. The hotel is conveniently located right off the main highway running through Sonoma. The grounds are beautiful and the location makes it perfect for reaching both the vineyards in the north or south part of the county and for taking a day trip to Napa.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, although not luxury. They were perfect for what we were looking for - a relaxing getaway of wine tastings and exploring. The staff was courteous and very knowledgeable. We were given many great recommendations from them, including one of our now go to places, Willi's Wine Bar. The food at the hotel restaraunt is great and is usually what we look forward to after the long flight from the east coast. The hotel bar has a good wine list, stocking a variety of local wines. Breakfast is the perfect start to a day out exploring. They will even pack you a lunch for picnics at the wineries.

One of the best parts of staying here is the service. It is what keeps us coming back. At the end of a weekend of wine tasting and buying, all you have to do is fill out an inventory form and bring your wine bottles to the front desk at checkout. They take care of arranging for the shipping back home at a very reasonable fee. You just can't beat that. No worries about finding a UPS store or packing your own bottles. Priceless.

We look forward to coming back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed here in October 2012. We had decent service, got our warm cookie and the whole bit. We had two rooms, both were clean -- I liked the nice big bathroom and the beds were comfortable. I am picky about pillows, so it is nice they had a big choice. As has been mentioned the shared balconies are bit odd and don't make you feel super safe.

Only problem we had ~ we were told we could buy wine packing supplies several times, by different people, at the gift shop which was inconveniently closed whenever we checked. When they were finally open (as we were gathering our wine to head to the airport) they informed us they haven't sold that stuff for a good long while. We cobbled together some boxed, but 2 pretty expensive bottles broke because of not being properly packed.... Not blaming the hotel, but it was disappointing.

They did point us to a great breakfast place.

Overall would I rush back, no. No complaints, but nothing to write home about either...

Room Tip: A room on the outside if you don't want a shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S, Director of Front Office Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hello Mdande,

I am sorry to hear that this was not a stand out experience for you during your most recent stay with us. We do our best to make sure that every guests stay is a good one, but unfortunately it does not seem we were able to exceed your expectations this time.

If you have the time, I would love to hear from you, and find what we can do for your next stay a great one.

Happy Travels,

Iain Scarr
Director of Front Office Operations
iain.scarr@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lansing, ks
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was a return trip to the Double Tree. It will now be my home away from home in Wine Country. The staff was excellent. The room was fantastic. The grounds are wonderful. I travel about 10 days a month and this hotel is in the top 5% of hotels that I have stayed in. If you want a quiet retreat from the hustle of California, this is it.

Room Tip: if you can get it, a room facing the courtyard is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe_kansas_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S, Director of Front Office Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hello Joe_Kansas_2012,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this outstanding review! We try very hard to make sure your guests experience is a positive one, and I am glad to hear we were able to succeed for you and be your new home away from home in Wine Country.

Warm regards,

Iain Scarr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rohnert Park
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rohnert Park - Sonoma County
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#3 of 10 in Rohnert Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
9.4 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 1 Doubletree Dr, Rohnert Park, CA 94928-1336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Rohnert Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rohnert Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central wine country location, the Doubletree Hotel Sonoma Wine Country puts you near 300 wineries, great scenic destinations and popular attractions. We are just an hour away from the San Francisco Bay area and 20 minutes from Charles Schulz (Sonoma County) Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Sonoma Wine Country
Doubletree Rohnert Park
Rohnert Park Doubletree
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country Rohnert Park, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing