We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Toro Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hana Japanese Restaurant

Hana Japanese Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hana Japanese Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 125 Restaurants in Rohnert Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rober Lake Road
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Toro Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you go to this restaurant, you MUST try the toro, it is the best toro I have had. I have being coming here for over 10 years, so my experience with this place is quite extensive. I also love the Shitake mushroom nigiri, tofu agedashi and every roll I have had here has been very good. Yesterday they had wild hamachi ! marvelous as well. It is one of the places that has fresh Wasabi. the quality of everything is top notch, just go and have a great time. The wine list is very nice (but for some reason a bit expensive).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    22
    18
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
140 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Unimpressed with meals, tempura was not good, service was slow.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I dont like writing poor reviews, but we were unimpressed with Hana. We read great things online and the hotel in the area recommended eating here so that we didn't have to drive far, but food was not that great. I was surprised because they did win best sushi for 2012.
It was somewhat busy, but the service was extremely slow compared to the number of people. They have a $15 cork fee if you bring your own bottle. Try it if you'd like, but I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elk555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Japanese owned, Japanese excellence.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Hana is Japanese owned and operated. Unfortunately most Japanese/sushi joints in Sonoma county are Korean or Chinese owned. There is a HUGE difference. Before you consider any of these "average" reviews or begin to second guess your decision to try Hana please understand that Hana is a traditional Japanese restaurant.

Food is always fresh and your choices are immense. When you order chef's choice sushi you are served items most typical sushi places don't offer or even have available.

Hana has been in business for 23 years. Give them a try. Enjoy some cold sake, they have some amazing choices that cannot be found north of San Francisco.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank posthole_was_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maunaloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Sushi - best in Sonoma County, Tempura not so great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had sushi and every piece was excellent. Fresh, good portion and very tasty. My wife had Tempura and was not as excited. It was limp. I tried a couple of shrimp tempura and the were not crisp. Not to our taste, so stick to the best sushi in Sonoma County

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Born2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little Japanese Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Double tree just down the street and they recommended this place. It's small, so you may want to call ahead to ensure you get a spot.

I don't do sushi so I had the NY steak with teryaki and it was great. Very tender and not your typical store bought sauce. It came with mashed potatoes of all things and some white rice, miso soup and salad.

My boyfriend had some salmon sashimi and organic chicken and he really enjoyed his as well.

The service was friendly and helpful with the menu choices. I think the prices were slightly high, but I see the same in most sushi restaurants.

We will go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaintsGurl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Rohnert Park, Sonoma County
Rohnert Park, Sonoma County
 
Rohnert Park, Sonoma County
Rohnert Park, Sonoma County
 
Rohnert Park, Sonoma County
Rohnert Park, Sonoma County
 

Been to Hana Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing