We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“ho jo's” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rocklin
Tacoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“ho jo's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is the 2nd year in a row that we chose this hotel. It appears that the maintenance and upkeep is not a priority. We had two room's, what is suppose to be non smoking smelled heavily of smoke. In the room and the hallway. The carpet was deeply soiled with whatever. Some type of stains were on the curtains. Rm. 113. There were other things but let's move on. It was a Monday and had ask for a 1pm checkout. Not granted! We had a 5pm flight, it would have been nice. Hotel was not gonna be sold out at this time. Good things were staff was very polite and courteous. Maids were helpful and breakfast was sufficient.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank poppadub17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    98
    75
    47
    30
See reviews for
151
43
26
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

As others have mentioned, there is a funky smell near the smoking rooms. The lobby was nice, and the employees were very friendly as well. The hallway to the rooms reminded me (in looks and smell) of an older hotel/casino in the Reno area.

Free Wi-Fi with several routers throughout the hotel. I was told to choose the one with the highest signal. Only one had four bars, the others zero to one. Connected to the one with four bars, but it would disconnect a couple times, and then be fine for an hour or so. So, I really didn't mind since I wasn't in the room much.

We had no problem with any noise whatsoever - guests, traffic...

Our room was worn, but clean and decent. There was one stained chair that we didn't sit in. They really should do something about that one. (It is in room 100, if management is reading this).

The pillows were pretty flat, but I had read that in another comment, so we brought our own. Also, as mentioned previously, the shower head is low on the shower wall. I'm 5'8", so I had to bend down a few inches to rinse my hair. But, no biggie.

Good water pressure, A/C and fridge worked well. We didn't use the microwave. I really liked the big vanity area outside the bathroom and next to the fridge area.

Taco Bell, Denny's and Arby's are in front of the hotel, so that was nice. Trying to find the place is a bit difficult. As soon as you see the Taco Bell and Arby's signs, TURN! ;)

For the price I paid, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Guest577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel is like any other Howard Johnson, but for a non smoking hotel the hallways and room we stayed in smelled heavily of cigarette smoke. I stayed with someone who is a heavy smoker and that was her major complaint. Breakfast was okay, by the time I got there at 8:30 almost everything was gone. The other thing we noticed was there was a mini kitchen in our room and we had 1 small trash can! They could have added another one. If I had to I would stay again, but get up earlier for breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very bad experience. I have stayed here at this hotel for over 25 years but it has gone downhill and not worth the money. I need to find a better. cleaner place to stay in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocklin
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Rocklin/Sacramento
0.1 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Rocklin
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rocklin - Roseville Area
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rocklin - Galleria Area
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Roseville Galleria Mall/Creekside Ridge Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
Address: 4420 Rocklin Rd, Rocklin, CA 95677-2835 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Rocklin)
Location: United States > California > Rocklin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rocklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson o`Cairns Hotel Rocklin
Howard Johnson Rocklin
Rocklin Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing