We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste of home”

Lucille's Smokehouse Bar-B-Que
Ranked #3 of 145 Restaurants in Rocklin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Sumter, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Taste of home”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I grew up in South Carolina and love BBQ. This is one of the few BBQ restaurants we have heard of in the area. We have visited twice now.

The strawberry lemonade is amazing! They serve it in a huge mason jar and the refills keep on coming. They will even give you a to-go cup before you leave.

On our first visit I had the tri-tip. Good. On our last visit I had the pulled pork sandwich. I thought it was a little dry, but still tasty.

I would not recommend the artichoke appetizer, but the spinach & artichoke dip was good. They also give you rolls with honey butter which are yummy.

The service is always good and the servers are friendly. It's a nice place to go when you want some good ol' Southern style BBQ.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    98
    44
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Ribs”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good beef ribs and large portions. If you enjoy southern cooking, it is a great place. Fried okra and collard greens. Good service even when busy.
Have had two birthday dinners with 10-12 people and we were served quickly with good service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stick to the Ribs”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I've been to Lucille's twice. Both times we had pork ribs and beef ribs. The beef ribs are amazingly awesome! No fatty mouthfuls. My family also enjoys the pork ribs. We went on a busy Saturday night with a party of 6. Two appetizers, 3 cocktails, two platters of pork ribs, and one of the beef ribs, $150 out the door.
We had some great leftovers with that order for the next day. I think it's best to skip the appetizers, and the sides are not impressive, but the ribs will not disappoint. There was a loud band the first time that I didn't care for. On the second visit (5/10/14) there was one gentlemen with a guitar. Our server was very attentive. I really enjoyed his music. We are looking forward to returning for another great time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, CA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“WOW! Great BBQ and service.”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had the Texas BBQ brisket. It just melts in your mouth. Add their BBQ sauce and it's even better.
Had the BBQ chips for appetizer with BBQ ranch. Very good.
Our waitress was so accommodating and even offered full size take out drinks!
We will definitely go back often. You can't go wrong here with many choices. Pastas, sandwiches, fried chicken, ribs and more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsTerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Come ready to eat, Lucille's has a huge menu and has something for everyone. The BBQ is really good and the bread pudding is awesome. In my opinion the salads are overpriced and filled with too much lettuce, but everything else on the menu is good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tnlctygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucille's Smokehouse Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Lucille's Smokehouse Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing