We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Delicious Chicken Marsala” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rubino's Ristorante

Rubino's Ristorante
Ranked #16 of 129 Restaurants in Rocklin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Chicken Marsala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We went to Rubino's for the first time last week and the food was delicious. I had the Chicken Marsala and my husband had a pasta dish. We both thought the menu, food and service was very nice. It's hard to find a good Italian restaurant in Rocklin so we will return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
266 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Gnocchi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Yes, I am it again. I'm always looking for a light and fluffy gnocchi. Rubinos hit the mark with a very delicate and delicious tasting marinara sauce smothering the gently soft gnocchi. We did try a deep fried risotto which was absolutely wonderful. Fried Risotto - Rubino’s signature risotto fried to perfection and served in a tomato cream sauce
We went to have lunch after the rush. The food took a while to get to our table but it was worth the wait. The stuffed meatloaf that two of the guests had was also delicious. We all had to take home the doggy bag for enjoyment at another meal. The seafood and pasta menus are extensive. It was beautifully decorated for the Holiday Season. It had a lovely warmth about it! I'm going back again and again. As I have said before it is difficult to please this Italian girl but Rubino's did an excellent job of satiating my palette. Some of the specialty dishes included Fried Risotto - Rubino’s signature risotto fried to perfection and served in a tomato cream sauce Chicken Marsala, Chicken Parmigianna, Chicken Picatta, Chicken Saute, Chicken Chardonnay. IT's repeated again with Veal Marsala, Parmigianna, Picatta,Scallopini.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrammyJ43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had a coupon for $30 and never found time to use it. Finally my wife and I went and had a wonderful meal, excellent service at reasonable prices for the entire menu. Definitely will go back for more. I had Sweetbreads which are hard to find on most menus. Done perfectly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StevoSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and service were top-notch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We visited Rubino'sfor the first time for a late lunch. We were pleased with the variety of the menu, and also enjoyed the selection of wine and the offering of Loomis Basin Brewery beer. (Be aware, they bring it in a 22 oz. bottle...it's a big one!) We enjoyed the atmosphere, with the decor being pleasant and welcoming, and the background music playing old classics. But above all else, the best part of our experience at Rubino's was our waiter, Don Carlo. He was incredibly attentive without being intrusive, he was friendly and polite, and we really felt like he wanted to be there as our waiter. We eat at many restaurants in different states and found Don Carlo to be genuine and one of the best waiters we have encountered. We will definitely go to Rubino's again and hope to have Don Carlo as our server again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RomanticAuburnites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Twice was too much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We've been to Rubinos twice. The first trip featured marvelous appetizers and a superbly done Ceasar's salad. Our two entrees were fine and the service throughout the dinner was very good. Based on our experience we definetely wanted to return. We did, and the second visit was pretty much terrible. We ordered the promotional special of Spaghetti Bolognese for four, preceded by an off-the-menu appetizer. The appetizer was so bad the that even our party of four left some of it uneaten. The Bolognese gravy was nothing close to real Bolognese. Rather, is was a painfully bland tomato and meat sauce. We were appalled.that this garbage was being advertised as Bolognese. We had lots left over, which we took home in a doggy bag and doctored up to a platable level - for our Beagle. The waiter stunk - literally. He was obviously a heavy smoker and emited an odor like a ashtray filled with old butts. He was a good waiter otherwise, but so what? We were so stunned by this experience, even a few days afterwards, that we called the restaurant management to complain about the so-called sauce. The manager apologized profusely and agreed that there were problems with their "special." He asked for our address so he could send us a voucher for a free entree to make up for our lousy dinner.. Well, that was months ago and it has yet to arrive. Will I visit again? I'd rather stick needles in my eyes.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
3 Thank raidbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubino's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Rubino's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing