We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey, pretentious and pleasing to the palate!”
Review of The Chef's Table

The Chef's Table
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chef's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 143 Restaurants in Rocklin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Blue Oaks
Description: The Chef's Table Rocklin ~ Local ingredients, carefully handled, lovingly prepared and joyfully served to you for your culinary enjoyment. We love where we live, we love where our restaurant sits, and we love to entertain. If you've been in before we hope to see you again. If you have never been, we can't wait to meet you!
Northern California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pricey, pretentious and pleasing to the palate!”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This restaurant is filled with their own pretentiousness, but as much as I wanted to hate them, there was no denying the deliciousness of their fried chicken or bacon brownie (they are EXTREMELY proud of the latter). We'd go again because they take pride in their food and the product is undeniably great. Don't even attempt to go without a reservation. I've read enough of others' reviews to not make that mistake. That said, it's very much worth the trip and I'd highly recommend this restaurant. One more thing... Can't get healthy stuff here. It's all very "down home".

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kdonna66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    16
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great boutique style restaurant in rocklin”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

the wine list is very good, the service friendly, and the food was exactly what i expected. for me its nice to go to a smaller, more specialized place instead of the mega restaurants that you see sll over rocklin.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wong33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Loved this place, but they are becoming average”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I have visited Chef's table numnerous times since it opened. My last couple visits it seems the owner and staff have taken for granted that they had been so busy. Menu is becoming very predictable and the owner/chef spends most of his time standing at the bar area drinking with his friends. This has happened on our last two occasions, as he ignores most other cutomers. Food is still good, but it now lacks the passion it once had. I hope they can get it back together as it was a great place for a night out.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brians27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Probably not again...”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We'd heard a lot of good things about The Chef's Table and our first visit was intriguing, if not all we'd expected/hoped it to be. Our second visit (earlier this week) was a disaster from beginning to end. It's a small and vibrant place with an open cooking area behind the bar ~ a nice concept ~ if it worked. However, it gets really really hot in Rocklin in the summertime; add to that the fact that those deep fryers, frying pans and grills put out a huge amount of heat (and, sometimes, smoke) and the room becomes pretty uncomfortable in the early evening. Service during the first visit was friendly, if not particularly professional or polished; on the second visit it was non-existent, so it can't be rated. We had to continuously struggle to get our waiter's attention ~ and this is in a place where the style of dining is to linger while ordering sequential small plates to be shared. On the first visit, the food was good ~ not great, but interesting. Second visit: Three out of four dishes were pretty much inedible ~ they were a version of carbonara that was so thick and gummy with cream and cheese that it became a gelatinous mass, a grilled artichoke that was served lukewarm with cold butter (yuck), and hideously overcooked deep fried calamari. The beer-battered pesto fries were very tasty and very greasy. In fact, if you are looking for anything remotely "good for you" then you should skip this place completely. The wine offerings are a mediocre selection; many sold at $12/glass ~ too high for the quality, in my opinion. However, the menu states that they offer corkage for only $15/bottle which would be a better option. The owner was present on both occasions of our visits and he appears to be tired, distracted and downright surly. I, for the life of me, can't figure out the popularity of The Chef's Table. Maybe Rocklin just doesn't have that many restaurant options other than chains? I may try them again, but it won't be for a long time. Our dining experience cost about $100 ~ which was significantly more than it was worth.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gr8erEscapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chef's Table also viewed

 

Been to The Chef's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing