We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic hotel, a destination more than just a place to stay”

Mission Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mission Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 703 Restaurants in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mission Inn Avenue/Orange Street
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great historic hotel, a destination more than just a place to stay”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is not just a pleasant place to stay, but a true experience. You'd be crazy to stay at a chain hotel if you need to go to Riverside. I took a tour of the hotel after checking out and the tour was great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank uncaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    171
    70
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Boring food, slow service”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at the Mission Inn for several days and dined at three of their restaurants. We chose The Mission Inn Restaurant on our first night. The courtyard is beautiful, possibly the most beautiful restaurant where I have dined. We waited one hour for our food to arrive. The menu has very few selections so from the start we were disappointed. The entrees were very simple. The only item my teenage son would consider was the broiled half chicken. It was small and overcooked. Very little meat, and too much work to get it. My husband ordered the scallops which were undercooked, which is hard to do since they only take a few minutes to prepare. We sent them back and it was quite a wait for the second plate. I don't even remember my entree. Dinner was $100 and quite a waste of money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lmf60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff, Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our family just had a Celebration of Life for our Mom and after leaving the National Cemetery all 19 of us headed to the Mission Inn for buffet and buckets of champagne - our Mom's favorite. The staff were wonderful and even took us an hour before our requested reservation time. The cold champagne was slow to come at first and Aaron our great server made one bottle go around the entire table for a toast! After that the bottles came until we said stop. The buffet was delicious. The salmon was one of the best dishes and the deserts had everyone going back twice. We thank the management, the staff, and especially Aaron.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GJean1565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Came here for a business breakfast. Ate at the Mission Inn restaurant. Service was very slow. Food expensive, but I expected that. The place has nice ambiance, but the service really brought the experience down. Don't eat here if you're in a rush. It wasn't crowded and service was still slow.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LsyaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were seated outside, which as it turned out was great. It was still early enough to be very comfortable, not to hot.. Service was great, as always. Price of having a nice table, it was the furthest from the buffet, so there was a bit of a walk. Selection was Ok, food was also Ok.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mission Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing