We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Bed Bugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands Motel
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

And for good measures, I also needed to state that two days after leaving that hell hole my face and neck begun to itch and swell very badly. The third day I had to be rushed to the doctor because I was almost unrecognizable due to severe swelling from being eaten up by bed bugs. They only attacked where I had open wounds because I has minor surgery earlier that day. Yes that oversized flea was really a huge bed bug thanks to that filthy stinking place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank diamondndaruff81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    2
    1
    12
See reviews for
5
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The worst motel I have ever stayed in over night in 40 yesrs.The smell of the room is horrendous. Sprayed it down with perfume and it still was funky, and this was supposed to be a non-smoking room. I'd rather smell the smoke. My daughter suggested we sleep in our car after finding what looked like a big oversized flea. This place is a crap hole. Where is Undercover Boss for this place?

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamondndaruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I travel on the cheap all over the country and I've never wanted to punch a front desk attendant in the face more than I did 5 minutes ago. Um 11 percent tax? Um unknown, unadvertised $8.50 fee that they do not acknowledge until after card is run? convenient they do advertise a strict no refund policy. I'm typically quite aware of these hidden fees, resort fees in Vegas, but a crack house in Riverside? Not to mention, pretty gross

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scottdgeiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

i had medical appointments at kaiser i booked room, never again will i stay there . prostitutes all over the parking lot, room was dirty clerk was rude and smelly and then overcharged 59.00 to 75. 00 the differance is not proper sales tax so i turned in a complaint to calif board of equilezation for tax evasion . when i asked for itimized receipt he refused . i also challenged the differance to credit card holder

Room Tip: pick another motel there are better for same price just down the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ronald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband and I had to stay here for a week before finally having my apartment ready to move into. I chose to say here because of price of course. The room stank like fresh cigarettes and never been cleaned, the carpet is sticky, the comforters appear as have never been washed tho I'm glad the sheets were. The pillows are as if they have been dug out of the trash and upon the wifi think... once you're connected they either will cut you off every 5 minutes or cut you off at a certain time at night. CONSTANT issues!. Do not waste your money.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Like the previous poster I also stayed here trying to save money. Upon check-in, the front desk staff had NO manners. The rooms stunk. The other patrons, who all seemed to be on parole, seemed as though they were using the place as a safe house. VERY bare rooms, and dirty bathrooms. The shower tub and tile walls had multiple layers of paint peeling off. When I took my shoes off and set them by the in room refrigerator I noticed A PILE OF USED AND BLOODY FEMININE PADS STUFFED BEHIND IT! They refused to give me a refund and said the room was clean. It was only AFTER I convinced the front desk clerk to look for himself that I was able to change rooms. His comment was "Our cleaning person is not a machine, sometimes he misses things". He said this after the comment "Thats not that bad, I can pick that up if you want" was made. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!

Trip Advisor needs to remove this filthy motel from their site...

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cowboyporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

the front desk staff is rude, don't bother making a reservation they will try to swindle you out of it and charge you more. The doors don't colse/lock all the way. The whole property stinks like curry all the time, day and night. The rooms are beyond filthy and clientele is sketchy to say the least. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelStar104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
8.1 mi away
Budget Inn Riverside
Budget Inn Riverside
#15 of 24 in Riverside
3.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
7.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
8.7 mi away
Dynasty Suites Hotel
Dynasty Suites Hotel
#11 of 24 in Riverside
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ayres Inn Corona East / Riverside
0.1 mi away
Riverside Inn and Suites
Riverside Inn and Suites
#10 of 24 in Riverside
3.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Riverside Tyler Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Motel

Property: Sands Motel
Address: 10625 Magnolia Ave, Riverside, CA 92505-1815
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands motel is conveniently located directly across from Kaiser Permanente Hospital. This hotel is close to area attractions including the Castle Amusement Park, California Citrus State Historical Park, La Siera University, The California Speedway, Tyler Mall and the University of Riverside. The Ontario International Airport is 20 miles away. The hotel is also close to a variety of restaurants and ATM locations. There is also a roller rink and ice-skating rink within walking distance. Riverside Golf Course is five miles from the hotel.Guests of this hotel will enjoy many full-service amenities including free coffee, outdoor seasonal pool and sun deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing